Fireside Politics: Radio and Political Culture in the United States, 1920-1940 by Douglas B. CraigIn Fireside Politics, Douglas B. Craig provides the first detailed and complete examination of radio's changing role in American political culture between 1920 and 1940-the medium's golden age, when it commanded huge national audiences without competition from television. Craig follows the evolution of radio into a commercialized, networked, and regulated industry, and ultimately into an essential tool for winning political campaigns and shaping American identity in the interwar period. Finally, he draws thoughtful comparisons of the American experience of radio broadcasting and political culture with those of Australia, Britain, and Canada.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Radio Utopia by Matthew C. Ehrlich As World War II drew to a close and radio news was popularized through overseas broadcasting, journalists and dramatists began to build upon the unprecedented success of war reporting on the radio by creating audio documentaries. Focusing particularly on the work of radio luminaries such as Edward R. Murrow, Fred Friendly, Norman Corwin, and Erik Barnouw, Radio Utopia: Postwar Audio Documentary in the Public Interest traces this crucial phase in American radio history, significant not only for its timing immediately before television, but also because it bridges the gap between the end of the World Wars and the beginning of the Cold War. Matthew C. Ehrlich closely examines the production of audio documentaries disseminated by major American commercial broadcast networks CBS, NBC, and ABC from 1945 to 1951. Audio documentary programs educated Americans about juvenile delinquency, slums, race relations, venereal disease, atomic energy, arms control, and other issues of public interest, but they typically stopped short of calling for radical change. Drawing on rare recordings and scripts, Ehrlich traces a crucial phase in the evolution of news documentary, as docudramas featuring actors were supplanted by reality-based programs that took advantage of new recording technology. Paralleling that shift from drama to realism was a shift in liberal thought from dreams of world peace to uneasy adjustments to a cold war mentality. Influenced by corporate competition and government regulations, radio programming reflected shifts in a range of political thought that included pacifism, liberalism, and McCarthyism. In showing how programming highlighted contradictions within journalism and documentary, Radio Utopia reveals radio's response to the political, economic, and cultural upheaval of the post-war era.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The radio broadcasting industry by Alan B. Albarran, Gregory G. Pitts.
Call Number: PN 1991.3 .U6 A43 2001
Selling the Sixties by Robert ChapmanWas it a non-stop psychedelic party or was there more to pirate radio in the sixties than hedonism and hip radicalism? Selling the Sixties examines the development of offshore pirate radio in Britain, challenging the myths surrounding its maverick Kings Road image and separating popularist consumerism from the economic and political machinations which were the flipside of the pirate phenomenon. Robert Chapman analyses pirate radio and its legacy in the shape of two contrasting models of unauthorised pop radio: Radio Caroline and London. He situates these influential stations in their social and cultural contexts, and frames them in an examination of the growth of European and American commercial radio. Chapman also examines the boom in pirate stations in the wake of the BBC's reluctance to respond to consumer demand and its eventual adoption and assimilation of aspects of unoffical pop radio into its own pop service - Radio One. This study of the place of unauthorized braodcasting in sixties subculture brings to light previously unseen evidence from the pirates' archives and makes use of interviews with those directly involved.
Television : the life story of a technology by Alexander B. Magoun
Call Number: TK6637 .M34 2007
The History of Television, 1942-2000 by Albert Abramson; Christopher H. Sterling (Foreword by)Albert Abramson published (with McFarland) in 1987 a landmark volume titled The History of Television, 1880-1941 (massive...research--Library Journal; voluminous documentation--Choice; many striking old photos--The TV Collector). At last he has produced the follow-up volume; the reader may be assured there is no other book in any language that is remotely comparable to it. Together, these two volumes provide the definitive technical history of the medium. Upon the development in the mid-1940s of new cameras and picture tubes that made commercial television possible worldwide, the medium rose rapidly to prominence. Perhaps even more important was the invention of the video tape recorder in 1956, allowing editing, re-shooting and rebroadcasting.This second volume, 1942 to 2000 covers these significant developments and much more. Chapters are devoted to television during World War II and the postwar era, the development of color television, Ampex Corporation's contributions, television in Europe, the change from helical to high band technology, solid state cameras, the television coverage of Apollo II, the rise of electronic journalism, television entering the studios, the introduction of the camcorder, the demise of RCA at the hands of GE, the domination of Sony and Matsushita, and the future of television in e-cinema and the 1080 P24 format. The book is heavily illustrated (as is the first volume).
Call Number: TK6637 .A27 2003
Publication Date: 2002
The Columbia History of American Television by Gary EdgertonTelevision is a form of media without equal. It has revolutionized the way we learn about and communicate with the world and has reinvented the way we experience ourselves and others. More than just cheap entertainment, TV is an undeniable component of our culture and contains many clues to who we are, what we value, and where we might be headed in the future. Media historian Gary R. Edgerton follows the technological developments and increasing cultural relevance of TV from its prehistory (before 1947) to the Network Era (1948-1975) and the Cable Era (1976-1994). He begins with the laying of the first telegraph line in 1844, which gave rise to the idea that images and sounds could be transmitted over long distances. He then considers the remodeling of television's look and purpose during World War II; the gender, racial, and ethnic components of its early broadcasts and audiences; its transformation of postwar America; and its function in the political life of the country. He talks of the birth of prime time and cable, the influence of innovators like Sylvester "Pat" Weaver, Roone Arledge, and Ted Turner, as well as television's entrance into the international market, describing the ascent of such programs as Dallas and The Cosby Show, and the impact these exports have had on transmitting American culture abroad. Edgerton concludes with a discerning look at our current Digital Era (1995-present) and the new forms of instantaneous communication that continue to change America's social, political, and economic landscape. Richly researched and engaging, Edgerton's history tracks television's growth into a convergent technology, a global industry, a social catalyst, a viable art form, and a complex and dynamic reflection of the American mind and character. It took only ten years for television to penetrate thirty-five million households, and by 1983, the average home kept their set on for more than seven hours a day. The Columbia History of American Television illuminates our complex relationship with this singular medium and provides historical and critical knowledge for understanding TV as a technology, an industry, an art form, and an institutional force.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Blue Skies by Patrick ParsonsBlue Skies is the first complete history of cable television, the most influential technology affecting the lives of almost every American. Author Patrick Parsons writes about the early days of cable -- they go back farther than most people know -- and the pioneers in the last half of the twentieth century whose business skills, entrepreneurial instinct, and luck all played out to give rise to the most ubiquitous technology in the country-- still outpacing computers and the internet -- cable TV.
Publication Date: 2008
Internet Books & eBooks
Googled : the end of the world as we know it by Ken Auletta
Call Number: HD9696.8.U64 G6623 2009
Spam: A Shadow History of the Internet by Finn BruntonThe vast majority of all email sent every day is spam, a variety of idiosyncratically spelled requests to provide account information, invitations to spend money on dubious products, and pleas to send cash overseas. Most of it is caught by filters before ever reaching an in-box. Where does it come from? As Finn Brunton explains in Spam, it is produced and shaped by many different populations around the world: programmers, con artists, bots and their botmasters, pharmaceutical merchants, marketers, identity thieves, crooked bankers and their victims, cops, lawyers, network security professionals, vigilantes, and hackers. Every time we go online, we participate in the system of spam, with choices, refusals, and purchases the consequences of which we may not understand. This is a book about what spam is, how it works, and what it means. Brunton provides a cultural history that stretches from pranks on early computer networks to the construction of a global criminal infrastructure. The history of spam, Brunton shows us, is a shadow history of the Internet itself, with spam emerging as the mirror image of the online communities it targets. Brunton traces spam through three epochs: the 1970s to 1995, and the early, noncommercial computer networks that became the Internet; 1995 to 2003, with the dot-com boom, the rise of spam's entrepreneurs, and the first efforts at regulating spam; and 2003 to the present, with the war of algorithms -- spam versus anti-spam. Spam shows us how technologies, from email to search engines, are transformed by unintended consequences and adaptations, and how online communities develop and invent governance for themselves.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
100 Ideas That Changed the Web by Jim BoultonThis innovative title looks at the history of the Web from its early roots in the research projects of the US government to the interactive online world we know and use today. Fully illustrated with images of early computing equipment and the inside story of the online world's movers and shakers, the book explains the origins of the Web's key technologies, such as hypertext and mark-up language, the social ideas that underlie its networks, such as open source, and creative commons, and key moments in its development, such as the movement to broadband and the Dotcom Crash. Later ideas look at the origins of social networking and the latest developments on the Web, such as The Cloud and the Semantic Web. Following the design of the previous titles in the series, this book will be in a new, smaller format. It provides an informed and fascinating illustrated history of our most used and fastest-developing technology.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Internet Freedom and Political Space by Olesya TkachevaThe Internet is a new battleground between governments that censor online content and those who advocate freedom for all to browse, post, and share information online. This report examines how Internet freedom may transform state-society relations in nondemocratic regimes, using case studies of China, Egypt, Russia, and Syria, and also draws parallels between Internet freedom and Radio Free Europe programs during the Cold War."