Included Databases:

Academic OneFile; Artemis Literary Sources; Business Collection; Business Economics & Theory; Business Insights: Essentials; Career Transitions; Civil War: Sources in U.S. History Online; Communications and Mass Media Collection; Computer Database; Criminal Justice Collection; Culinary Arts Collection; Educator's Reference Complete; Expanded Academic ASAP; Gale Virtual Reference Library; Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture; General Business File ASAP; General Onefile; Global Issues in Context; Health and Wellness Resource Center; Health Reference Center Academic; Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure; Information Science & Library Issues Collection; Informe; Insurance and Liability Collection; Kids Infobits; Military and Intelligence Database; Opposing Viewpoints in Context; Pop Culture Collection; Popular Magazines; Powerserch; Professional Collection; Psychology Collection; Religion & Philosophy Collection; Small Business Collection

Instructions:

1. Click on the title of the article. Look for the "Cite" icon in the upper right of the article.

2. In the window that opens, click on the citation format you need. Copy and paste the citation into your paper. Look for the "Merge Formatting" option in Word to match the font and other formatting to the text in your paper.

3. Carefully review the elements, punctuation, capitalization, and italics of the generated citation.

Corrections:

Title. The capitalization is incorrect; only the first letter of the first word and the first letter of the first word after the colon are capitalized. The title should be: Why do fact-checking organizations go beyond fact-checking? A leap toward media and information literacy education.

Journal Title. The capitalization is incorrect and it has an added element; all first letters of all words in the journal title are capitalized and the [Online] is not required. The title should be: The International Journal of Communication 

Page numbers. There are no page numbers for this journal; remove this last number: 4563+. 

Extra tip: If your professor has asked you to remove the DOI link and replace it with the Permalink, click on the "Get Link" icon and copy the permalink.

Included Databases:

ABI/Inform; Black Freedom Struggle in the United States; Coronavirus Research Database; Criminal Justice Periodicals; Ebook Central; Education Database; Hoover's Company Profiles; ProQuest Central; ProQuest Central: Science & Technology; ProQuest History; ProQuest One Business; Psychology Journals; PsycTests; US Newsstream

Instructions:

1. Click on the title of the article. Look for the "Cite" icon in the upper right of the article.

2. In the window that opens, choose the citation style in the drop-down box. Copy and paste the citation into your paper. Look for the "Merge Formatting" option in Word to match the font and other formatting to the text in your paper.

3. Carefully review the elements, punctuation, capitalization, and italics of the generated citation.

Extra tip: If your professor has asked you to remove the DOI link and replace it with the Permalink, click on the "All Options" icon (the three dots) in the upper right of the article and copy the permalink.

Instructions:

Note: The built-in citation in the Issues & Controversies database must be corrected. 

1. Click on the title of the topic or article. Look for the "Cite" word and icon in the menu below the title (if the article opens in a new window on a different website and there is no "Cite" tool, use the APA Citation Help Guide to create the citation).

2. In the window that opens, click on the APA citation format. Note that this database still uses APA 6th edition. It will need to be modified before you can use it in your paper.

3. We already know that the citation is not correct. There are two main problems here:

• This database is still using APA 6th edition! The 6th edition was replaced in 2019 with the 7th edition. 
• Database information is not usually included in most references but the articles in Issues & Controversies were written for the database so we do include that information. 

Notes & Corrections:

• Author: There is no author so the title moves to that position but remove the italics.
• Date: That is done correctly.
• Retrieved date: Remove this, that changed with the 7th edition of APA. 
• Source: This is missing from the citation. Add: In Issues & Controversies. Infobase.
• URL: note that the original citation has a period at the end which means the link is not active. Remove this!

Reference list format for Issues & Controversies: Title in sentence case. (Year, Month Date). In Issues & Controversies. Infobase. URL

In-text citation: (Title, year).

Extra tip: If your professor has asked you to remove the DOI link and replace it with the Permalink, click on the "Share" icon and click copy link. Then paste it into your citation.

Instructions:

Note: The built-in Credo citation needs to be corrected. This is because Credo gathers items from other sources, we need to cite those sources. To cite credo entries, follow the instructions for encyclopedias or dictionaries. 

1. Click on the title of the article. Look for the word and icon for "Citation" in the menu near the top right.

2. In the window that opens, click on the citation format you need. Copy and paste the citation into your paper but remember, we will be correcting it. Look for the "Merge Formatting" option in Word to match the font and other text formatting in your paper.

3. Correct the format. The corrections are different when there is a group author v an individual author.

Notes and Corrections for group author in Credo:

• Author: Credo lists the title in the author position when there is no individual author. To find what to list as the author, use the organization name listed after the title. In this example, It is Gale. (You can also find this by clicking the "from" link under the title).
• Title: Move the title after the date.
• Source: remove the word Gale, that was already used as the author so we do not repeat it. 
• Extra material: remove the words Credo Reference:

Notes and Corrections for individual authors in Credo:

• et. al.: remove this and add in the rest of the authors. Find their names by clicking on the "from" link under the title and looking for the names. 
• Extra material: remove the words Credo Reference:

Extra tip: If your professor has asked you to include the Permalink, the built-in Credo citation includes the permalink.

Included Databases:

Behavioral & Mental Health Online; Berlin Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall; Counseling & Therapy in Video; Films on Demand; Medici.tv Classical Music; Naxos Music Library

Instructions:

Although some of these databases do have built-in citation generators, none of them are particularly well done and you should not rely on them. Instead, please use the information in the Lynn Library, APA Citation Help page, Audio & Visual Works Guide or ask a librarian.