Public access to high value, comprehensive datasets generated U.S. government, in nearly every topic area.

Data about development and socio-economic conditions in countries around the globe.

The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data.

Statistics on crimes and criminals, prisons and jails, victims, law enforcement, firearms, and more.

National data on crimes from all states and municipalities.

NACJD hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

American FactFinder provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.

Detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States, from crime rates to weather patterns.

Data on immigration, natural disasters, cybercrime, and homeland security.

Tools and datasets tracking the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.

Search PBC home sales by date, subdivision, zip code, sales price, residential/commercial, and more.

Contains detailed country data on revenue, debt, consumer confidence, prices, and much more.

Datasets on national income, labor statistics, price indices, current business indicators, and industrial production.

Information on international trade and economic development, markets, and labor force.

Presents data on the well-being of children in the US: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.

Huge datasets showing the results of decades of students' academic performance.

International datasets on educational attainment, literacy, and more.

Data on the supply and disposition of natural gas, electric power, international energy statistics, energy country profiles for 217 countries, state and territory energy profiles for the U.S., financial data collected from major energy producers, short-term and historical energy outlook data & projections, and real energy prices.

Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.

Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on international environmental issues.

Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.

An interactive site from the UN Environment Programme, with data, maps, reports and more.

Data from the Centers for Disease Control on health and nutrition, health care facilities and providers, family health, and immunizations.

Aggregated data on health in the US.

Gapminder is an independent Swedish Foundation. This tool identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions.

Requires a free account to access open datasets from around the world.

Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets.

The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.

Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Datasets from the Department of Political Science at the University of Gothenburg focused on the causes, consequences and nature of Good Governance and the Quality of Government (QoG).

A nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

From the APA; examples of electronically available behavioral and social science data

The Journal of Open Psychology Data (JOPD) publishes peer-reviewed data papers describing psychology datasets with high reuse potential.

Extensive datasets on the airline industry.

Datasets on transport policy issues including investment & maintenance, transport statistics, emissions, road taxation and safety.

Data on all transportation sectors: safety, infrastructure, energy, and more.