Lynn UniversityLynn Library
Skip to Main Content

Research Methods in the Social Sciences

General Statistics

These resources are often useful places to consult in your search for statistics.

  •  Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases- 
  • Statistical Abstracts of the United States
    The national data book online. Frequently the best place to start if you don't know what data exist on a topic. The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Find statistical indicators and use as a guide to sources of more information both in print and online.
     
  • Statistical Abstracts of the World
    This Census Bureau site contains the archived back issues of the Statistical Abstracts of the United States.
     
  • Historical Statistics of the United States Colonial Times to 1970    The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history including statistics. Topics covered include: population, work and welfare, economics, international relations and governance.
  • CIA World Factbook
    The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 268 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Free web site.
     
  • ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
    ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Includes data for criminal justice, demography, economics, education, foreign policy, gerontology, history, law, political science, public health, and sociology. A separate username/password is required for ICPSR. You must register using your UST email address in order for this resource to recognize you as an authorized user.
     
  • The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
    The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data.

Surveys

The Pew Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day

EUROBAROMETER

Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

UN E-Government Surveys 

 

Afrobarometer is an African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.

Polling

 Gallup.Com provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research.

 

An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

Looks at public attitudes to key public services, and so informing social policy on issues such as identity, social cohesion, physical capital and the impact of place on attitudes.

The WorldPublicOpinion.org network is a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries.

An association of polling organizations setting professional standards for public opinion pollsters, and disseminating information on how to conduct polls and interpret poll results.
An association of polling organisations that publish polls. The objectives of the Council ensure standards of disclosure designed to provide consumers of survey results that enter the public domain have an adequate basis for judging the reliability and validity of the results.

 Russian Public Opinion Research Center

Conducts research - from instrument design and data collection to analysis and presentation of results in the fields politics, business and social affairs.

Horizon Research Limited is based in Auckland, New Zealand, and has more than 80 clients including multi-national and national companies, government agencies, iwi and national business and community organisations.

Country Profiles and Statistics

Country Profiles of Statistical Systems

The UN central repository of country profiles, updated by National Statistical Offices worldwide.

Country Statistical Profiles

Snapshot of data selected from more than 40 statistical databases available on OECD iLibrary.
World FactbookInformation on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities provided by the CIA.

IMF Country Information

Reports and publications arranged by country.

The World Bank

 

Countries and Economies

Energy Statistics by Country/Region

Population / Demographics


  • American Fact Finder"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data" Includes the Decennial Census and American Community Survey data sets, the most comprehensive source of U.S. social, economic, demographic, and housing data.
  • Social Explorer
    An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information in report and map form.