Lynn UniversityLynn Library
Skip to Main Content

Dialogues

Where can I find the sources I need?

1. Library Databases: Religious & Philosophical Belief Systems‎

Use these library databases in addition to the databases listed on the Home page of this guide to look up religious and philosophical belief systems.

Library Databases: Academic & Scholarly Articles

Use these library databases in addition to the databases listed on the Home page of this guide to find academic and scholarly articles.

2. Additional Resources: Online Encyclopedias of Philosophy‎

Check with your instructor! These Online Encyclopedias of Philosophy are scholarly, academic sources (and some entries are peer-reviewed); however, they are not Lynn Library resources, so confirm with your instructor before you use them in this course.

How to cite this encyclopedia:

Author, A. A. (2020). Entry name in sentence case. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2023 ed.). Stanford University. URL

  • Click "Author and Citation Info" to get the current edition date (Summer 2023 or Fall 2024, etc.) for the Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy

 

How to cite this encyclopedia:

Author, A. A. (n.d.). Entry name in sentence case. In J. Fieser & B. Dowden (Eds.), Internet encyclopedia of philosophy. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL

  • There are no publication dates for this encyclopedia, so use (n.d.) and a retrieval date

 

How to cite this encyclopedia:

Author, A. A. (2019). Entry name in sentence case. In R. Waithe & M. E. Hagengruber (Eds.), Encyclopedia of concise concepts by women philosophers. URL

  • click [DOI] link for the date
  • click the [P] for the permanent link

 

Suggested keywords

  • Here are examples of religious belief systems: Christianity (or any Christian sub-group, such as Roman Catholic, Greek Orthodox, Mormonism, Armenian Church, Protestant Christian (Lutheranism, Methodist, Baptist, Nondenominational, etc.), Judaism (or sub-group, such as Orthodox, Reformed, etc.) Islam, Paganism, Wiccan, Satanism, American Indian Religion, Shamanism, Rastafarianism, etc.

 

  • Here are examples of philosophical belief systems: Idealism, Realism, Impressionism, Absurdism, Humanism, Existentialism, Critical Philosophy, Utilitarianism, Pragmatism, Minimalism, Sex philosophy (Queer Theory, Feminism, Masculinity) Agnosticism, Post-modernism, Stoicism, Positivism, Philosophy of science, Deconstructionism, Stoicism, American Transcendentalism, Transhumanism, Hedonism, Virtue Ethics.

Note. These are examples, not an exhaustive list of belief systems.