This guide provides an overview of the citation format, based on A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by Kate L. Turabian (9th edition). For more details and examples:

• Consult the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue
• Refer to The Chicago Manual of Style Online Quick Citation Guide
• Chat with a Lynn Librarian (Click on the Ask a Librarian tab on the right.)
• Ask for A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations at the Library Information Desk.

The purpose of citing sources in a particular format is to show readers information consistently. You need to pay attention to the order of elements (author, title, publication information, source location, etc.), capitalization, italics, and punctuation.

In the notes-bibliography style, you refer to a source that you use by placing a superscript number at the end of the sentence.

According to Margulis, “Some of the effects of repetition, including an emergent sense of inevitability or rightness, can depend on a lack of awareness that repetition itself is mediating the experience.”¹ 

Then, you cite the source in footnotes (notes) that provide author, title, and publication information at the bottom of the page. End each element with a comma. The first line of the entry should be indented by a 1/2 inch. Use the font size that Word automatically sets. (It’s usually 10 pts.)

1. Elizabeth Hellmuth Margulis, On Repeat: How Music Plays the Mind, (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014), 113.

Sources are listed at the end of the paper in a bibliography. Each bibliographic entry includes the same information in notes but in a different form. Invert the first and last names and end each element with a period. The entry is hang-indented (which means to indent the second line).

Margulis, Elizabeth Hellmuth. On Repeat: How Music Plays the Mind. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014.

This guide explains how to format sources in notes and the bibliography and shows examples. This guide’s section number corresponds to the Turabian guide’s chapter number.

• Margins - At least 1 inch on all four edges
• Font - Choose a single, readable, widely available font. The Turabian guide recommends Times New Roman (12 pt.) or Arial (10 pt.) for the body of the paper. For notes (or footnotes), use the font size that Word automatically sets. It's usually 10pt.
• Spacing and Indentation - Double-space all texts in papers except the following:
  • block quotations
  • footnotes
  • bibliographies
• Pagination - Start numbering pages from the body of the paper, not the title page, and place the number on the right side of the header.
• Bibliography - Type Bibliography (in bold and italics) at the top of the page when you start a bibliography page. Leave two blank lines after this label. Leave one blank line between entries. Entries should be listed alphabetically.