You are a new Lynn student working on your first research assignment. Where do you begin? You have more information at your fingertips right now than at any time in human history! But that doesn't help if you don't know WHERE or HOW to find it.
Most students default to using Google because it is familiar, but it isn't the best tool for every job. There are easier ways to find better information if you're willing to learn some new skills. This guide will help you start learning!
| DON'T | DO |
|
|
A database is the digital equivalent of a library building: it is a place where information is stored. Just like a library has a searchable catalog and labels on the shelves, databases have tools that make it easier to find what you need.
The Lynn University Library pays for subscriptions to academic and business databases. These subscriptions give you access to sources like:
You can search the Lynn Library databases in two ways:
You want academic & scholarly sources, books, and/or magazines related to a broad topic (ex. environmentalism, public relations)
You want sources related to more than one subject area (ex. psychology, business, & education)
You want a physical item from the library's collection (ex. books, DVDs, etc.)
You want academic & scholarly sources and other publications that are subject-specific (ex. only education-focused publications, only science journals, only company profiles)
You are looking for a specific type of source (an encyclopedia entry, a newspaper article, infographics with statistics, a Lynn dissertation)
You are researching companies, markets, or industries (sources from some of our business databases will not show up in main search results)
