Library: Theatre &amp; Performing Arts: Theatre Resources @ Lynn Library

Librettos, Scripts & Monologues

The Lynn Library has collections of librettos, monologues, and play scripts. The links below will take you to our catalog to find out what title are available.

Librettos for musicals
- Location: Music Library
- Call number: ML50-

Monologues
- Location: 2nd floor of the Lynn Library

Play scripts
- Location: 2nd floor of the Lynn Library
New Play Exchange (NPX)
- NPX is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers.
- Location: Online database

Musical Theatre Scores

The Lynn Library has collections of musical theatre sheet music. The links below will take you to our catalog to find out what titles are available.

Vocal scores
- Contain all the songs for a musical.
- Location: Music Library
- Call number: M1503- (Interfiled with operas)
Vocal selections
- Contain the essential songs from a musical arranged for piano accompaniment.
- Location: Music Library
- Call number: M1508-
Anthologies
- Contain songs from various musicals, usually for a specific voice type or songs by a simple composer.
- Location: Music Library
- Call number: M1507- and M1630.18

Nkoda
The Spotify of sheet music provides 80,000+ in digital format from major publishers. Users can browse, view, and annotate sheet music on a tablet using their app.
More Information: Please contact Music Librarian to obtain the account registration information.
- Nkoda app store
- Nkoda Google Play
Click the icon above to get the app from App Store and Google Play.

eBooks on Acting & Auditioning

We have more eBooks on acting and auditioning than what is listed below. Click HERE to browse more on our catalog.

Acting in Real Time by Paul Binnerts Acting in Real Time by renowned Dutch director and acting teacher Paul Binnerts describes his method for Real-Time Theater, which authorizes actors to actively determine how a story is told---they are no longer mere vehicles for delivering the playwright's message or the director's interpretations of the text. This level of involvement allows actors to deepen their grasp of the material and amplify their stage presence, resulting in more engaged and nuanced performances. The method offers a postmodern challenge to Stanislavski and Brecht, whose theories of stage realism dominated the twentieth century. In providing a new way to consider the actor's presence on stage, Binnerts advocates breaking down the "fourth wall" that separates audiences and actors and has been a central tenet of acting theories associated with realism. In real-time theater, actors forgo attempts to become characters and instead understand their function to be storytellers who are fully present on stage and may engage the audience and their fellow actors directly.   Paul Binnerts analyzes the ascendance of realism as the dominant theater and acting convention and how its methods can hinder the creation of a more original, imaginative theater. His description of the techniques of real-time theater is illuminated by practical examples from his long experience in the stage. The book then offers innovative exercises that provide training in the real-time technique, including physical exercises that help the actor become truly present in performance. Acting in Real Time also includes a broad overview of the history of acting and realism's relationship to the history of theater architecture, offering real-time theater as an alternative. The book will appeal to actors and acting students, directors, stage designers, costume designers, lighting designers, theater historians, and dramaturgs.
ISBN: 9780472028566
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
Acting Intentionally and Its Limits: Individuals, Groups, Institutions by Gottfried Seebaß (Editor); Michael Schmitz (Editor); Peter M. Gollwitzer (Editor) The book presents the first comprehensive survey of limits of the intentional control of action from an interdisciplinary perspective. It brings together leading scholars from philosophy, psychology, and the law to elucidate this theoretically and practically important topic from a variety of theoretical and disciplinary approaches. It provides reflections on conceptual foundations as well as a wealth of empirical data and will be a valuable resource for students and researchers alike. Among the authors: Clancy Blair, Todd S. Braver, Michael W. Cole, Anika Fäsche, Maayan Davidov, Peter Gollwitzer, Kai Robin Grzyb, Tobias Heikamp, Gabriele Oettingen, Rachel McKinnon, Nachschon Meiran, Hans Christian Röhl, Michael Schmitz, John R. Searle, Gottfried Seebaß, Gisela Trommsdorff, Felix Thiede, J. Lukas Thürmer, Frank Wieber.
ISBN: 9783110284461
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
Acting Power by Robert Cohen 'Robert Cohen's book, Acting Power, follows the tradition of his other book, Acting One, and has been the veritable bible for acting teachers for the last quarter century.' - David Krasner, Emerson College 'This book, above all else, is an attempt to explore the qualities of acting power.... to suggest to you, the actor, an approach toward not merely good acting but powerful acting. Great actors display the power to frighten - and the power to seduce - and can shift between the one and the other like a violinist can her notes.' - From the Preface The first edition of Acting Power was a groundbreaking work of acting theory which applied sociological and psychological principles to actor training. The book went on to influence a generation of theatre and performance studies students and academics, and was translated into five languages. This carefully revised 21st Century Edition (re)considers, in the context of today's field: questions such as 'should actors act from the inside or the outside?' and 'should the actor live the role or present the role?'; contemporary research into communication theory, cybernetics, and cognitive science; brilliantly illuminating and witty exercises for solo study and classroom use, and a through-line of useful references to classic plays; penetrating observations about the actor's art by more than 75 distinguished professional actors and directors. Cohen's elegant and rigorous updates emphasise the continuing relevance of his uniquely integrated and life-affirming approach to this field. The new edition draws on his extraordinarily rich career as teacher, scholar, director, translator and dramaturg. It is a recipe for thrilling theatre in any genre.
ISBN: 9781135123178
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
Body and Performance by Sandra Reeve Following on from Sandra Reeve's Nine Ways of Seeing a Body (which offered a historical perspective on different key approaches to the body over time), this new edited collection brings together a wide range of contemporary approaches to the body that are being used by performers or in the context of performance training. The intention is for students, dancers, performers, singers, musicians, directors and choreographers to locate their own preferred approach(es) to the body-in-performance amongst the lenses described here. The collection is also designed to facilitate further research in that direction as well as to signpost alternatives that might enrich their current vocabulary. All 12 approaches represent the praxis and research of their authors. The chapters reveal a wide variety of different interests but they share the common framework of the notion of 'body as flux', of 'no fixed or determined sense of self' and of supporting the performer's being-becoming-being as a skilful creative entity, emphasising the intelligence of the body at work. Authors: Campbell Edinborough, Hull University Sreenath Nair & Arya Madhavan, Lincoln University Konstantinos Thomaidis, Royal Holloway, Univ. of London Kate Hunter, Victoria University Niamh Dowling, Rose Bruford College, London Suze Adams, Independent Research Artist Emma Meehan, Coventry University Nicholas Hope, Intl. Screen Academy, Sydney Roisin O'Gorman, Univ. College, Cork Natalie Garrett Brown, Coventry University Imogene Newland & Franziska Schroeder, Queen's Univ, Belfast Pam Woods, Exeter University
ISBN: 9781909470170
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen by Annette Lust As stage and screen artists explore new means to enhance their craft, a new wave of interest in expressive movement and physical improvisation has developed. And in order to bring authenticity and believability to a character, it has become increasingly vital for actors to be aware of movement and physical acting. Stage and screen artists must now call upon physical presence, movement on stage, non-verbal interactions, and gestures to fully convey themselves. In Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen, Annette Lust provides stage and screen artists with a program of physical and related expressive exercises that can empower their art with more creativity. In this book, Lust provides a general introduction to movement, including definitions and differences between movement on the stage and screen, how to conduct a class or learn on one's own, and choosing a movement style. Throughout the book and in the appendixes, Lust incorporates learning programs that cover the use of basic physical and expressive exercises for the entire body. In addition, she provides original solo and group pantomimes; improvisational exercises; examples of plays, fiction, poetry, and songs that may be interpreted with movement; a list of training centers in America and Europe; and an extensive bibliography and videography. With 15 interviews and essays by prominent stage and screen actors, mimes, clowns, dancers, and puppeteers who describe the importance of movement in their art and illustrated with dozens of photos of renowned world companies and artists, Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen will be a valuable resource for theater teachers and students, as well as anyone engaged in the performing arts.
ISBN: 9780810881259
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
The Expressive Actor by Michael Lugering "The study of acting should not begin with an exploration of feeling, perception, imagination, memories, intention, personalization, self-identification... or even performance--but physical action." Michael Lugering's The Expressive Actor presents a foundational, preparatory training method, using movement to unlock the entire acting process. Its action-based perspective integrates voice, movement and basic acting training into a unified approach. A wealth of exercises and diagrams guide the reader through this internationally taught program, making it an ideal step-by-step course for both solo and classroom use. Through this course, voice and body training becomes more than a simple skill-building activity - it is the central prerequisite to any actor training. This new Routledge edition has been fully updated, to include: A revised prologue, further discussing the historical and philosophical grounding of The Lugering Method A new introduction, with particular focus on the integrative nature of the method and how the book should be used. New developments, clarifications, and 12 new exercises. 6 new illustrative diagrams.
ISBN: 9781136449000
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
In Rehearsal by Gary Sloan In Rehearsal is a clear andnbsp;accessible how-to approach to the rehearsal process. Author Gary Sloan brings more than thirty years' worth of acting experience to bear on the question of how to rehearse both as an individual actor and as part of the team of professionals that underpins any successful production. Interviews with acclaimed actors, directors, playwrights, and designers share a wealth of knowledge on dynamic collaboration. The book is divided in to three main stages, helping the reader to refine their craft in as straightforward and accessible manner as possible: In the world:nbsp;A flexible rehearsal program that can be employed daily, as well as over a typical four week production rehearsal. In the room: Advice on working independently and productively with other members of a company, such as directors, playwrights, designers and technical crew; how your personal creative process varies depending on the role, be it Shakespeare, musicals, film, television or understudying. On your own: Creating your own rehearsal process, exploring original and famous rehearsal techniques, breaking through actor's block and how to practice every day. In Rehearsal breaks down the rehearsal process from the actor's perspective and equips its reader with the tools to become a generous and resourceful performer both inside and outside the studio. Its independent, creative and daily rehearsal techniques are essential for any modern actor.
ISBN: 9781136507748
Publication Date: 2012-07-26
Mastering the Audition by Donna Soto-Morettini Frustrating, nerve-wracking, job-winning or job-losing, flawed yet necessary - auditioning is a maddening business for everyone involved. The people behind the audition desk are looking for a killer audition (often under tremendous pressure), but most of the auditionees walk into the room feeling nervous, unprepared, and unable to control their own performance. Although the idea of creating 'winning performance strategies' is common in business and sports studies, no one has ever really attempted to bring the psychology of creating a winning performance to a book on auditioning. Drawing on some fascinating, cutting-edge research into how the brain copes and responds in high-stress situations, Mastering the Audition looks closely at the effects of fear, at our flawed ability to assess or really know ourselves, at what really drives us, and at what it really takes to master the audition experience. Applicable to all areas of performing, including reality television, musicals, stage, film and commercials, this book helps you hone your performing skills and develop the mental toughness that can keep you going through the inevitable ups and downs of the audition process. Where other books advise you to 'be confident' and 'be prepared', Mastering the Audition tells you exactly HOW.
ISBN: 9781408166208
Publication Date: 2013-12-02
Movement for Actors by Nicole Potter Experts in a wide array of disciplines provide remarkable insight into the Alexander technique, the use of psychological gesture, period movement, the work of Rudolph Laban, postmodern choreography, and Suzuki training, to name but a few. Those who want to pursue serious training will be able to consult the appendix for listings of the best teachers and schools in the country. This inspiring collection is a must read for all actors, directors, and teachers of theater looking for stimulation and new approaches.
ISBN: 9781581153002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Theatre in Practice by Nick O'Brien; Annie Sutton Theatre in Practice provides students with all of the 'must have' Drama skills required for A-Level, International Baccalaureate, BTEC and beyond. Practical, step-by-step exercises and diagrams give access to the key figures and processes central to drama, including: Stanislavski, Brecht, Lecoq and Berkoff devising theatre rehearsing and performing monologues and duologues how to approach directing a play improvising. Each chapter offers advice for both students and teachers, with notes and follow-on exercises ideal for individual study and practice. Written by specialists with extensive experience leading workshops for the 'post 16' age-group, Theatre in Practice is a thorough and imaginative resource that speaks directly to students.
ISBN: 9781136450198
Publication Date: 2012-12-07
Your Body Knows by Jana Tift; Meade Andrews Your Body Knows provides the foundation actors need to move with ease and power. It is a practical guide to movement starting at the very beginning: knowing your body and experiencing how it works. Through the work of F.M. Alexander, Rudolf Laban, and Michael Chekhov, this book offers basic training in movement fundamentals. Its step-by-step process supports the actor's work in any acting or movement training program and as a working professional. The book focuses on three main areas of exploration: Body facts - Know your body and its design for movement. Let go of misinformed ideas about your body. Move more freely, avoid injury, and develop a strong body-mind connection. Movement facts - What is movement? Discover the movement fundamentals that can serve your art. Explore new ways of moving. Creative Inspiration - Connect your body, mind, and imagination to liberate authentic and expressive character movement. Your Body Knows: A Movement Guide for Actors is an excellent resource for acting students and their teachers, promoting a strong onstage presence and awakening unlimited potential for creative expression.
ISBN: 9780429330568
Publication Date: 2020-01-24

Streaming Video

FOD: Drama and Theatre
Direct link to the Films on Demand Drama and Theatre Collection

Theatre Magazines

American Theatre
Articles, commentary, review articles, theatre reviews on all aspects of national theatre.
Back Stage
The most trusted place for actors to find news and casting information.

Theatre & Performing Arts

Library Assistance

Librettos, Scripts & Monologues

Musical Theatre Scores

eBooks on Acting & Auditioning

Streaming Video

Theatre Magazines

Lynn University

Theatre & Performing Arts

Librettos, Scripts & Monologues

Musical Theatre Scores

eBooks on Acting & Auditioning

Streaming Video

Theatre Magazines