Project management is the application of processes, methods, skills, knowledge and experience to achieve specific project objectives according to the project acceptance criteria within agreed parameters. Project management has final deliverables that are constrained to a finite timescale and budget.
A Project Manager's Book of Forms by
Essential project management forms aligned to the PMBOK® Guide--Sixth Edition A Project Manager's Book of Forms is an essential companion to the Project Management Institute's A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge. Packed with ready-made forms for managing every stage in any project, this book offers both new and experienced project managers an invaluable resource for thorough documentation and repeatable processes. Endorsed by PMI and aligned with the PMBOK® Guide, these forms cover all aspects of initiating, planning, executing, monitoring and controlling, and closing; each form can be used as-is directly from the book, or downloaded from the companion website and tailored to your project's unique needs. This new third edition has been updated to align with the newest PMBOK® Guide, and includes forms for agile, the PMI Talent Triangle, technical project management, leadership, strategic and business management, and more. The PMBOK® Guide is the primary reference for project management, and the final authority on best practices--but implementation can quickly become complex for new managers on large projects, or even experienced managers juggling multiple projects with multiple demands. This book helps you stay organized and on-track, helping you ensure thorough documentation throughout the project life cycle. Adopt PMI-endorsed forms for documenting every process group Customize each form to suit each project's specific needs Organize project data and implement a repeatable management process Streamline PMBOK® Guide implementation at any level of project management experience Instead of wasting time interpreting and translating the PMBOK® Guide to real-world application, allow PMI to do the work for you: A Project Manager's Book of Forms provides the PMBOK®-aligned forms you need to quickly and easily implement project management concepts and practices.
Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide) and the Standard for Project Management by
PMBOK® Guide is the go-to resource for project management practitioners. The project management profession has significantly evolved due to emerging technology, new approaches and rapid market changes. Reflecting this evolution, The Standard for Project Management enumerates 12 principles of project management and the PMBOK® Guide - Seventh Edition is structured around eight project performance domains. This edition is designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes. This edition of the PMBOK® Guide: Reflects the full range of development approaches (predictive, adaptive, hybrid, etc.); Provides an entire section devoted to tailoring the development approach and processes; Includes an expanded list of models, methods, and artifacts; Focuses on not just delivering project outputs but also enabling outcomes; and Integrates with PMIstandards+(tm) for information and standards application content based on project type, development approach, and industry sector.
The AMA Handbook of Project Management by
A must-read for any project management professional or student. Projects are the life blood of any organization. Revised to reflect the latest changes to A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK(R)) and the Project Management Professional Exam(R), the fourth edition of The AMA Handbook of Project Management provides readers with a clear overview of a complex discipline. Covering everything from individual projects to programs and strategic alignment, it addresses: Project initiation and planning Communication and interpersonal skills Scheduling, budgeting and meeting business objectives Managing political and resource issues Implementing a PMO Measuring value and competencies. The book compiles essays and advice from the field's top professionals and features new chapters on stakeholder management, agile project management, program management, project governance, knowledge management, and more. Updated with fresh examples, case studies and solutions to specific project management dilemmas, it remains an essential reference to the critical concepts and theories all project managers must master.
Effective Project Management by
The popular guide to the project management body of knowledge, now fully updated Now in its eighth edition, this comprehensive guide to project management has long been considered the standard for both professionals and academics, with nearly 40,000 copies sold in the last three editions! Well-known expert Robert Wysocki has added four chapters of new content based on instructor feedback, enhancing the coverage of best-of-breed methods and tools for ensuring project management success. With enriched case studies, accompanying exercises and solutions on the companion website, and PowerPoint slides for all figures and tables, the book is ideal for instructors and students as well as active project managers. Serves as a comprehensive guide to project management for both educators and project management professionals Updated to cover the new PMBOK® Sixth Edition Examines traditional, agile, and extreme project management techniques; the Enterprise Project Management Model; and Kanban and Scrumban methodologies Includes a companion website with exercises and solutions and well as PowerPoint slides for all the figures and tables used Written by well-known project management expert Robert Wysocki Effective Project Management, Eighth Edition remains the comprehensive resource for project management practitioners, instructors, and students. (PMBOK is a registered mark of the Project Management Institute, Inc.)
The Fast Forward MBA in Project Management by
The all-inclusive guide to exceptional project management The Fast Forward MBA in Project Management is the comprehensive guide to real-world project management methods, tools, and techniques. Practical, easy-to-use, and deeply thorough, this book gives you answers you need now. You'll find the cutting-edge ideas and hard-won wisdom of one of the field's leading experts, delivered in short, lively segments that address common management issues. Brief descriptions of important concepts, tips on real-world applications, and compact case studies illustrate the most sought-after skills and the pitfalls you should watch out for. This new fifth edition features new case studies, new information on engaging stakeholders, change management, new guidance on using Agile techniques, and new content that integrates current events and trends in the project management sphere. Project management is a complex role, with seemingly conflicting demands that must be coordinated into a single, overarching, executable strategy -- all within certain time, resource, and budget constraints. This book shows you how to get it all together and get it done, with expert guidance every step of the way. Navigate complex management issues effectively Master key concepts and real-world applications Learn from case studies of today's leading experts Keep your project on track, on time, and on budget From finding the right sponsor to clarifying objectives to setting a realistic schedule and budget projection, all across different departments, executive levels, or technical domains, project management incorporates a wide range of competencies. The Fast Forward MBA in Project Management shows you what you need to know, the best way to do it, and what to watch out for along the way.
Project Management JumpStart by
An informative introduction for those considering a career in project management Project Management JumpStart offers a clear, practical introduction to the complex world of project management, with an entertaining approach based on real-world application. Fully revised to align with a Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge -PMBOK Guide©, 6th edition, this book provides an overview of the field followed by an exploration of current best practices. The practical focus facilitates retention by directly linking critical concepts to your everyday work, while the close adherence to PMBOK guidelines makes this book the perfect starting point for those considering certification to earn either PMP or CompTIA Project+ credentials. Project management is a top-five, in-demand skill in today's workplace, and the demand has spread far beyond IT to encompass nearly every industry; any organization that produces goods or services, whether for profit or not, has a vested interest in ensuring that projects are completed on time, on budget, and to the satisfaction of the client--this is the heart of the project management function. Let Kim Heldman, bestselling author of PMP Study Guide and CompTIA Project+ Study Guide, walk you through the basic principles and practices to help you build a strong foundation for further training. Understand current project management methods and practices Explore project management from a practical perspective Delve into illustrative examples that clarify complex issues Test your understanding with challenging study questions Trillions of dollars are invested in various projects around the world each year, and companies have learned that investing in qualified project management professionals pays off in every aspect of the operation. If you're considering a career in project management, Project Management JumpStart provides an excellent introduction to the field and clear direction for your next steps.
Contemporary Project Management by
Learn to master the most proven methods in project management as well as exciting new techniques emerging from current industry and today's most recent research with Kloppenborg's CONTEMPORARY PROJECT MANAGEMENT, 4E. This edition introduces time-tested manual techniques and progressive automated techniques, all consistent with the latest PMBOK Guide and standards and integrated with Microsoft Project 2016. The book's focused approach is ideal for building strong portfolios that showcase project management skills for future interviews. All content is consistent with the knowledge areas and processes of the 6th edition of the PMBOK Guide to give you an advantage as you prepare to become a Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) or Certified Project Management Professional (PMP), if desired.
Agile Practice Guide by
Agile Practice Guide - First Edition has been developed as a resource to understand, evaluate, and use agile and hybrid agile approaches. This practice guide provides guidance on when, where, and how to apply agile approaches and provides practical tools for practitioners and organizations wanting to increase agility. This practice guide is aligned with other PMI standards, including A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) - Sixth Edition, and was developed as the result of collaboration between the Project Management Institute and the Agile Alliance.
