It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page provides references to literature on academic writing provided by the Lynn University Library. Books about general writing and discipline-specific writing are provided, including links to the access information on WorldCat.
"Wow. No one ever told me this!" Wendy Laura Belcher has heard this countless times throughout her years of teaching and advising academics on how to write journal articles. Scholars know they must publish, but few have been told how to do so. So Belcher made it her mission to demystify the writing process. The result was Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks, which takes this overwhelming task and breaks it into small, manageable steps. For the past decade, this guide has been the go-to source for those creating articles for peer-reviewed journals. It has enabled thousands to overcome their anxieties and produce the publications that are essential to succeeding in their fields. With this new edition, Belcher expands her advice to reach beginning scholars in even more disciplines. She builds on feedback from professors and graduate students who have successfully used the workbook to complete their articles. A new chapter addresses scholars who are writing from scratch. This edition also includes more targeted exercises and checklists, as well as the latest research on productivity and scholarly writing. Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks is the only reference to combine expert guidance with a step-by-step workbook. Each week, readers learn a feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly. Every day is mapped out, taking the guesswork and worry out of writing. There are tasks, templates, and reminders. At the end of twelve weeks, graduate students, recent PhDs, postdoctoral fellows, adjunct instructors, junior faculty, and international faculty will feel confident they know that the rules of academic publishing and have the tools they need to succeed.
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's Textbook Excellence Award With its friendly, step-by-step format, Becoming an Academic Writer helps writers improve their writing by engaging in deep and deliberate practice--a type of practice adopted by expert performers in areas such as sports or music. Featuring 50 exercises, this practical, self-paced guide is flexibly organized so readers can either work their way through all of the exercises in order or focus on the specific areas where they need additional practice building their skills. The Second Edition is enhanced by a new appendix on literature review, new feature boxes, and new chapter summaries.
The best-selling new composition book published in this century, in use at more than 1,000 schools, They Say / I Say has essentially defined academic writing, identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing.The Second Edition includes a new chapter on reading that shows students how to read for the larger conversation and two new chapters on the moves that matter in the sciences and social sciences.
All students and professors need to write, and many struggle to finish their stalled dissertations, journal articles, book chapters, or grant proposals. Writing is hard work and can be difficult to wedge into a frenetic academic schedule. In this practical, light-hearted, and encouraging book, Paul Silvia explains that writing productively does not require innate skills or special traits but specific tactics and actions. Drawing examples from his own field of psychology, he shows readers how to overcome motivational roadblocks and become prolific without sacrificing evenings, weekends, and vacations. After describing strategies for writing productively, the author gives detailed advice from the trenches on how to write, submit, revise, and resubmit articles, how to improve writing quality, and how to write and publish academic work.
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
How to Use SPSS® is designed with the novice computer user in mind and for people who have no previous experience using SPSS. Each chapter is divided into short sections that describe the statistic being used, important underlying assumptions, and how to interpret the results and express them in a research report. The book begins with the basics, such as starting SPSS, defining variables, and entering and saving data. It covers all major statistical techniques typically taught in beginning statistics classes, such as descriptive statistics, graphing data, prediction and association, parametric inferential statistics, nonparametric inferential statistics and statistics for test construction. More than 270 screenshots (including sample output) throughout the book show students exactly what to expect as they follow along using SPSS. The book includes a glossary of statistical terms and practice exercises. A complete set of online resources including video tutorials and output files for students, and PowerPoint slides and test bank questions for instructors, make How to Use SPSS® the definitive, field-tested resource for learning SPSS. New to this edition: Now in full color with additional screenshots Fully updated to the reflect SPSS version 26 (and prior versions) Changes in nonparametric tests Model View incorporated Data and real output are now available for all Phrasing Results sections - eliminating hypothetical output or hypothetical data
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (7 Copies Available)
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
'This is a highly accessible, yet an adequately sophisticated text, which can be enjoyed by students across the skills spectrum. I am confident that it will help students who suffer from maths phobia as it offers to teach statistics with anxiety-busting clarity. The book benefits from easy to follow demonstrations and illustrations of statistical methods and techniques, which are highly relevant for business and management research at the undergraduate and masters level courses.' Professor Mustafa F. Ozbilgin, University of East Anglia, UK Are you confused about which statistical tests to use, when you should be using them and why you should be using them? This book is about helping you to choose and use the right statistical technique to analyse your data and write about your results and findings convincingly. It provides a concise and accessible guide to the essential statistical skills needed for success in your assignment, project or dissertation. Berman Brown and Saunders concentrate on particular statistical tests and their three Ws - what, why, and when. They provide you with the tools to choose the graphs and statistics that are suitable for your data, and to understand what the statistical results actually mean. In addition, the book: Explains why it is impossible to avoid using statistics in analysing data Describes the language of statistics to make it easier to understand the various terms used for statistical techniques Deals with using tables and charts to present data so that they are easy to understand Explains the statistics used to describe data used to infer differences and relationships. The book also includes a handy alphabet of statistics as well as a glossary of key statistical terms. Dealing with Statistics is key reading for students undertaking a social science or business and management assignment, project or dissertation as part of an undergraduate or Masters qualification.
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Publication Date: 2016
Master one of our economy's most rare skills and achieve groundbreaking results with this “exciting” book (Daniel H. Pink) from an “exceptional” author (New York Times Book Review).Deep work is the ability to focus without distraction on a cognitively demanding task. It's a skill that allows you to quickly master complicated information and produce better results in less time. Deep Work will make you better at what you do and provide the sense of true fulfillment that comes from craftsmanship. In short, deep work is like a super power in our increasingly competitive twenty-first century economy. And yet, most people have lost the ability to go deep-spending their days instead in a frantic blur of e-mail and social media, not even realizing there's a better way.In Deep Work, author and professor Cal Newport flips the narrative on impact in a connected age. Instead of arguing distraction is bad, he instead celebrates the power of its opposite. Dividing this book into two parts, he first makes the case that in almost any profession, cultivating a deep work ethic will produce massive benefits. He then presents a rigorous training regimen, presented as a series of four'rules,'for transforming your mind and habits to support this skill.1. Work Deeply2. Embrace Boredom3. Quit Social Media4. Drain the ShallowsA mix of cultural criticism and actionable advice, Deep Work takes the reader on a journey through memorable stories-from Carl Jung building a stone tower in the woods to focus his mind, to a social media pioneer buying a round-trip business class ticket to Tokyo to write a book free from distraction in the air-and no-nonsense advice, such as the claim that most serious professionals should quit social media and that you should practice being bored.
What if writing scientific papers was faster, easier, and a bit less painful? This book provides a step-by-step, top-down approach that makes it easier to turn your hard-won results into research papers that are focused, exciting, and readable. The book's systematic approach builds on what I've learned through coauthoring close to 100 research papers with students. You'll learn how to outline your paper from top to down, how to develop your story, and how to think about what to write before you write it. You'll also learn how to deal with many issues that writers of science commonly face, from the fear of the blank page to dealing with critical reviews. Here's what you get: A complete step-by-step plan for writing a scientific paper, from choosing which results to include to wrapping up the paper in the Discussion section Concrete, actionable, and practical advice, from a paragraph-level template for the Introduction to guidance on preparing plots and figures Lots of writing tips, from placing signposts in your text to shortening and straightening your sentences This book has been written for the PhD student who is aiming to write a journal article on her research results, but it should also be useful to any scientist who has ever found writing difficult. Whatever the stage of your career, if you'd like to learn how to write research papers systematically and efficiently, this is the book for you! The book includes PART I: STORY 1. How To Choose The Key Point Of Your Paper 2. How To Choose The Supporting Results 3. How To Write The Abstract 4. How To Choose The Title PART II: OUTLINE 5. The Power Of Outlining 6. How To Write The Introduction, Part I: Structure 7. How To Write The Introduction, Part II: A Four-Paragraph Template 8. How To Write The Introduction, Part III: The Lede 9. How To Write The Materials And Methods 10. How To Write The Results, Part I: Figures 11. How To Write The Results, Part II: Text 12. How To Write The Discussion PART III: WORDS 13. How Does Your Reader Read? 14. How To Write Your First Draft 15. How To Edit Your First Draft 16. Tips For Revising Content And Structure 17. Tips For Editing Sentences PART IV: IT'S NOT OVER YET 18. How To Write The Cover Letter 19. How To Deal With Reviews About the author I am a professor of computational science and an experienced academic with around 100 published papers. My research is interdisciplinary, to say the least: I have studied the social fabric of smartphone users, the genetic structure of ant supercolonies, the connectome of the human brain, networks of public transport, and the molecular biology of the human immune system, to name a few. So one could say that I have a broad range of scientific interests (or that I simply cannot choose). But that's exactly the way I like it!
Do you want to turn your research idea into a published journal article but don't know where to start? Or maybe you're in the middle of a research project and feel frustrated, alone, and stuck?My first scientific research project left me feeling pretty daunted, too. In this practical and accessible book, I'll guide you past the hurdles that make research so challenging and lead you through the research process from start to finish. I will save you time, effort, and frustration on your journey to getting published.This book organizes the research journey into a clear, step-by-step process. The process covers seven phases: review the literature, outline the project, run the experiment, visualize the findings, write the first draft, edit into the second draft, and revise until published. The book breaks each phase into a series of smaller tasks, encourages through the anxieties that hinder progress, and discusses strategies for boosting productivity.
The article-based thesis is becoming increasingly common, especially in the 'hard' sciences such as biology, medicine and technology, and is beginning to replace the traditional monograph. Format guidelines vary among universities. This is the first book to summarise the main features, showing the PhD student how to prepare a thesis in such a format. The suggestions are highly practical; both its good and bad examples from published theses support the author's wise advice on all aspects of such theses. Poor figures are not only scrutinised in detail but also redrawn for comparison. Guidance also covers the issues of reprint permissions and copyright. This informative and accessible book, from the author of How to Write and Illustrate a Scientific Paper, has been developed through the author's extensive teaching experience in scientific writing and also his experience as a journal editor. It is therefore an indispensable guide to article-based thesis success.
Academic Literacy in the Social Sciences is a practical introductory guide that supports students through the process of understanding and critically evaluating research in the Social Sciences. This essential text develops and strengthens students' ability to develop research paper topics, conduct thorough literature searches, critically evaluate research, and effectively summarize and share information. The textbook is broken down into ten chapters, focusing on topics such as theory and research methods in the social sciences, citing APA style, ethics and integrity, and statistics. This is an ideal resource for all students in undergraduate courses based in the social sciences.
"This book offers something for every academic writer, whether budding or experienced. Students struggling with essays and dissertations will find many practical exercises along with invaluable advice. More practised writers will encounter fresh insights.... I am confident that you, the reader, will enjoy this book, which is itself a model of good writing." -- Dr Linda Finlay, Open University, UK
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (6 Copies Available)
Whether you are a graduate student seeking to publish your first article, a new Ph.D. revising your dissertation for publication, or an experienced author working on a new monograph, textbook, or digital publication, Handbook for Academic Authors provides reliable, concise advice about selecting the best publisher for your work, maintaining an optimal relationship with your publisher, submitting manuscripts to book and journal publishers, working with editors, navigating the production process, and helping to market your book. It also offers information about illustrations, indexes, permissions, and contracts and includes a chapter on revising dissertations and one on the financial aspects of publishing. The book covers not only scholarly monographs but also textbooks, anthologies, multiauthor books, and trade books. The fifth edition has been revised and updated to align with new technological and financial realities, taking into account the impact of digital technology and the changes it has made in authorship and publishing.
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
This book helps students and researchers write better assignments, better dissertations, and better papers for publication. Characterizing academic writing as an integral part of the knowledge generation and dissemination process, it focuses on three main aspects: understanding research, documenting and sharing the process and results of research, and acknowledging the use of other people's ideas in the documentation. The authors use various samples of good as well as defective writing to illustrate the features of academic writing. They describe in detail the structure and contents of academic papers, especially conceptual and empirical research papers for journals. This lucidly written book will be a rich resource for MBA students and researchers working for MPhil and PhD degrees, especially in the fields of management, behavioural sciences and communications.
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (3 Copies Available)
This expanded second edition of a classic career guide offers fascinating insight into the publishing environment for the management discipline, drawing on a wealth of knowledge and experiences from leading scholars and top-level journal editors. Responding to the continuing emphasis on publishing in the top journals, this revised, updated and extended guide offers invaluable tips and advice for anyone looking to publish their work in these publications.
Call Number: eBook- Limited User Access (1 Copies Available)
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
"On Writing Well is a bible for a generation of writers looking for clues to clean, compelling prose." -New York Times A beloved classic, this definitive volume on the art of writing nonfiction celebrates its thirtieth anniversary. On Writing Well, which grew out of a course that William Zinsser taught at Yale, has been praised for its sound advice, its clarity, and for the warmth of its style. It is a book for anybody who wants to learn how to write or who needs to do some writing to get through the day, as almost everybody does. Whether you want to write about people or places, science and technology, business, sports, the arts, or about yourself in the increasingly popular memoir genre, On Writing Well offers you both fundamental principles as well as the insights of a distinguished practitioner. With over a million copies in print, this volume has stood the test of time and remains a valued resource for writers and would-be writers.
In Professional Academic Writing in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Susan Peck MacDonald tackles important and often controversial contemporary questions regarding the rhetoric of inquiry, the social construction of knowledge, and the professionalization of the academy. MacDonald argues that the academy has devoted more effort to analyzing theory and method than to analyzing its own texts. Professional texts need further attention because they not only create but are also shaped by the knowledge that is special to each discipline. Her assumption is that knowledge-making is the distinctive activity of the academy at the professional level; for that reason, it is important to examine differences in the ways the professional texts of subdisciplinary communities focus on and consolidate knowledge within their fields. Throughout the book, MacDonald stresses her conviction that academics need to do a better job of explaining their text-making axioms, clarifying their expectations of students at all levels, and monitoring their own professional practices. MacDonald's proposals for both textual and sentence-level analysis will help academic professionals better understand how they might improve communication within their professional communities and with their students.
Elegant ideas deserve elegant expression. Sword dispels the myth that you can't get published without writing wordy, impersonal prose. For scholars frustrated with disciplinary conventions or eager to write for a larger audience, here are imaginative, practical, witty pointers that show how to make articles and books enjoyable to read--and to write.
The Handbook of Academic Writing offers practical advice to busy academics who want, and are often required, to integrate writing into their working lives. It defines what academic writing is, and the process of getting started through to completion, covering topics such as: Gaining momentum Reviewing and revising Self-discipline Writing regularly Writers' groups and retreats Academic writing is one of the most demanding tasks that all academics and researchers face. In some disciplines there is guidance on what is needed to be productive, successful writers; but in other disciplines there is no training, support or mentoring of any kind. This book helps those in both groups not only to improve their writing skills and strategies, but, equally importantly, to find satisfaction in engaging in regular and productive writing. Underpinned by a diverse range of literature, this book addresses the different dimensions of writing. The fresh approach that Murray and Moore explore in this book includes developing rhetorical knowledge, focusing on writing behaviours and understanding writing contexts. This book will help writers in academic contexts to develop a productive writing strategy, not only for research monitoring exercises, but also for the long term.
This guide offers detailed advice on the journal article publication process, describing each step of the process and providing insights for improving the presentation of work intended for publication in communication journals. It includes advice from journal editors across the discipline and offers resource materials to help both new and seasoned writers publish their work. The guide begins with an overview of the publication process, followed by a discussion of each step of the manuscript submission, review, and revision processes. In addition to reality-based answers to questions often posed to editors, resource materials are provided in the appendices, introducing readers to the various forms and correspondence they will encounter when they submit their work for consideration. The guide focuses on the issues and procedures associated with the publication process, examining rules and expectations encountered during the publishing process that are often assumed to be known but are rarely articulated. The guidance provided here will aid in establishing consistency in publication practices and will contribute toward improving the quality of journal submissions, as well as enhancing interaction with editors and reviewers. As a guide to demystifying procedures associated with the publication process, this resource will serve all academic authors desiring to publish their work in scholarly communication journals.
Well-known journal editors and Communication scholars Alison Alexander and W. James Potter provide an insider's guide to getting published in scholarly communication journals. Alexander and Potter begin with a review of the manuscript submission process followed by coverage of writing traps that should be avoided. Additional chapters, written by eight other distinguished journal editors, tell prospective authors what editors and reviewers look for when deciding which articles should be published and which should not. Researchers, students, and professionals will find helpful and practical discussions on writing literature reviews, theoretical essays, quantitative and qualitative studies, interpretive inquiries, and critical, cultural and historical essays.