Journal articles are scholarly publications. They typically inform or report on original research and include bibliographic information of the article’s sources. The articles are written by experts and often go through a peer-reviewed process.

Notes

##. First Name Last Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle,” Title of Journal Volume Number, Issue Number (Date of Publication): Page number of the cited section, URL.

Bibliography

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle.” Title of Journal Volume Number, Issue Number (Date of Publication): Page number of the entire article. URL.

Examples

1. Mary Ann Glynn, “When Cymbals Become Symbols: Conflict Over Organizational Identity Within a Symphony Orchestra,” Organization Science 11, no. 3 (May/June 2000): 289, https://doi.org/10.1287/orsc.11.3.285.12496.

Glynn, Mary Ann. “When Cymbals Become Symbols: Conflict Over Organizational Identity Within a Symphony Orchestra.” Organization Science 11, no. 3 (May/June 2000): 285–98. https://doi.org/10.1287/orsc.11.3.285.12496.

Magazine articles are cited in the same format as journal articles. However, cite by date only, even if there is a volume and issue number, also omit the page number in the bibliography.

Notes

##. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle,” Title of Magazine, Date, URL.

Bibliography

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle.” Title of Magazine, Date. URL.

Examples

1. Benjamin Carlson, “The Secret to Classical Music: It’s Just Music,” The Atlantic, June 3, 2010, https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2010/06/the-secret-to-classical-music-its-just-music/57593/.

Carlson, Benjamin. “The Secret to Classical Music: It’s Just Music.” The Atlantic, June 3, 2010. https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2010/06/the-secret-to-classical-music-its-just-music/57593/.

Newspaper articles are cited like a magazine article. In most cases, newspaper articles are cited only in notes; however, include them in the bibliography if they are critical to your argument or frequently cited.

Notes

##. Author’s First Name Last Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle,” Title of Newspaper, Date, URL.

Bibliography (if necessary)

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle.” Title of Newspaper, Date. URL.
Examples

1. Anthony Tommasini, “What Shouldn’t Change About Classical Music,” New York Times, December 17, 2021, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/12/17/arts/music/classical-music-tommasini.html.

Tommasini, Anthony. “What Shouldn’t Change About Classical Music.” New York Times, December 17, 2021. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/12/17/arts/music/classical-music-tommasini.html.