The Research Process Cycle

Research Steps Notes & Accessible Text

Central Box:

1. Do you have a research statement (or thesis, research question, argument)?

• You need to learn enough about your topic to be able to write your main argument as a full sentence or as a research statement. Each class will use a different term but a strong thesis/hypothesis/research question or argument will:
  • take a position on a topic
  • be backed by evidence
  • be open to debate
  • and be approved by your professor
• Get Inspired! Use your Dialogues iBook, online sources, current events, your professor, and the sources listed below to explore a topic until you are able to write a topic sentence for your paper/speech.

If no, I do not have a thesis yet

2. Go to the Find a Topic page.

• Use the topic lists in the databases there to find a topic that you think will work as a research topic for the assignment.
• Or search for your topic in those databases and in Google to learn enough about a topic to write your research statement.

If Yes, I do have a thesis:

3. Use your thesis to write key terms for a search.

Start with your one-sentence argument & make keywords

• make a list of the core words in your sentence
• then list synonyms and related terms
• all those words are your keywords for your search - find tips for doing this on the search skills page.

You need to use keywords to search library sources because library databases don't use "natural language" the way that Google does. 

4. Search library resources with your keywords to find scholarly sources

• Search most of the Lynn Library in one step from our main search box - for results from all fields
• Search individual databases - for results focused more narrowly on a specific field
  • This is a list of databases that are best for Dialogues classes.
  • This is all the databases available at Lynn University. Click on the subjects drop-down menu or use the alphabet to select a database.
  • Proquest is a great general database to start with: from Lynn.edu/library go to: Databases > "P" > Proquest Central
  • The Criminal Justice Periodicals database is an example of a database with a more narrow focus: from Lynn.edu/library go to: Databases > "C" > Criminal Justice Periodicals

Librarian Tip #1: Check with your professor to see if there are specific Lynn University search tools you should use.

Librarian Tip #2: Look for the peer-reviewed box to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles

5. Revise, Analyze, & Synthsize!

• Be ready to revise your topic and thesis based on what you learn when you search for a topic or for scholarly sources.
• This requires analysis. Use the tips for Reading Scholarly Articles to identify the thesis and conclusion (and methods). 
• Finally, synthesize what you have learned to create and support your own ideas, proposal, argument, etc. Focus on the "story" you see in your sources.