To cite the whole book:
Klotz, K., Regueiro, A., Varga, T., & Wright, M. (Eds.). (2020). Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed.). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Klotz et al., 2020)
To cite the introductory material in this chapter:
Wright, M. (2020). Introduction. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. iii-vi). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Wright, 2020, p.v)
To cite the required reading in this chapter:
Brock, G. & Hassoun, N. (2015, March 6). Global Justice. In E. N. Zalta and U. Nodelman (Eds.), The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Summer 2023 ed.). https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/justice-global/
In-text citation: (Brock, 2015)
To cite the introductory material in this chapter:
Varga, T. (2020). Justice, civic engagement & social impact. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. 9-17). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Varga, 2020, p. 11)
To cite the embedded material in this chapter:
Plato. (2021). The republic (B. Jowett, trans.). Project Gutenberg. https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/1497 (Original work published 375 B.C.E)
In-text citation: (Plato, 375 B.C.E./2021)
Hammurabi. (1915). The code of Hammurabi (L.W. King, Trans.). Sacred Texts. https://www.sacred-texts.com/ane/ham/ (Original work published ca. 1780 B.C.E)
In-text citation: (Hammurabi, ca. 1780 B.C.E./1915)
Everyday Democracy. (n.d.). Strong starts for children. https://www.everyday-democracy.org/strong-starts-children
In-text citation: (Everyday Democracy, n.d.)
To cite the required readings from this chapter:
StridesinDevelopment. (2010, July 9). Wangari Maathai & the green belt movement [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/BQU7JOxkGvo
In-text citation: (StridesinDevelopment, 2010)
Maathai, W. (2004, December 10). Wangari Maathai: Nobel lecture [Video]. The Nobel Prize. https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/peace/2004/maathai/lecture/
In-text citation: (Maathai, 2004)
Sen, A. (2017). Ethics and the foundations of global justice. Ethics & International Affairs, 31(3), 261-270. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0892679417000193
In-text citation: (Sen, 2017, p. 269)
To cite the additional resources in this chapter:
The Green Belt Movement. (n.d.). Wangari Maathai: Biography. https://www.greenbeltmovement.org/wangari-maathai/biography
In-text citation: (The Green Belt Movement, n.d.)
Harvard University. (n.d.). Amartya Sen. https://scholar.harvard.edu/sen/home
In-text citation: (Harvard University, n.d.)
Sen, A. (1998, December 10). Amartya Sen: Banquet speech [Video]. The Nobel Prize. https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/economic-sciences/1998/sen/speech/
In-text citation: (Sen, 1998)
Soest, L.V. (Director). (2010, July 12). Amartya Sen on development (Season 23, Episode 5) [TV series episode]. In POV. Transient Pictures; PBS. https://www.pbs.org/video/pov-amartya-sen-on-development/
In-text citation: (Soest, 2010)
NowThis World. (2015, September 27). What are the world’s biggest problems [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/YY9nxG2ZQ7w
In-text citation: (NowThis World, 2015)
CrashCourse. (2016, December 19). What is justice?: Crash Course Philosophy #40 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/H0CTHVCkm90
In-text citation: (CrashCourse, 2016)
Lindell, H. (2020). The importance of voting. Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life at The University of Texas at Austin. https://moody.utexas.edu/centers/strauss/tex-elects/importance-voting-hattie-lindell
In-text citation: (Lindell, 2020)
Yates, M., & Youniss, J. (Eds.). (2006). Roots of civic identity: International perspectives on community service and activism in youth. Cambridge University Press.
In-text citation: (Yates & Youniss, 2006)
Rolling Stone. (2020, June 2). The George Floyd protests go global. https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-pictures/photos-the-george-floyd-protests-go-global-1008934/
In-text citation: (Rolling Stone, 2020)
Social Impact Navigator. (2017). Step by step to more impact! http://www.social-impact-navigator.org/
In-text citation: (Social Impact Navigator, 2017)
Faulkner, L. & The Hitachi Foundation. (2016, April 4). How to make a social impact: Advice from five entrepreneurs. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/thehitachifoundation/2016/04/04/how-to-make-a-social-impact-advice-from-five-entrepreneurs/#677e3d0f6f75
In-text citation: (Faulkner & The Hitachi Foundation, 2016)
TEDx Talks. (2017, December 18). The 5 principles of social impact | Marian Spier | TEDxErasmusUniversityRotterdamn [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/vsQJ2Y_F0ZY
In-text citation: (TEDx Talks, 2017)
To cite the introductory material in this chapter:
Klotz, K. (2020). (In)justice & equality. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. 18-24). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Klotz, 2020, p. 20)
To cite the required readings from this chapter:
Milanovic, B. (2010). The haves and the have-nots: A brief and idiosyncratic history of global inequality. Basic Books.
In-text citation: (Milanovic, 2010, p. 150)
Page, J. (Producer). (1993). Ancient futures: Learning from Ladakh [Film]. The International Society for Ecology and Culture.
In-text citation: (Page, 1993)
Local Futures. (2020). Home. https://www.localfutures.org/
In-text citation: (local Futures, 2020)
TED. (2016, December 7). The urgency of intersectionality: Kimberlé Crenshaw [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/akOe5-UsQ2o
In-text citation: (TED, 2016)
Baily, S., & Holmarsdottir, H. B. (2015). The quality of equity? Reframing gender, development and education in the post-2020 landscape. Gender and Education, 27(7), 828-845. https://doi.org/10.1080/09540253.2015.1103842
In-text citation: (Baily & Holmarsdottir, 2015)
Boncori, S. & O'Shea, S. (2019, May 30). Half of transgender and non-binary people hid their identity at work in fear of discrimination -- here's how you can help. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/half-of-transgender-and-non-binary-people-hide-their-identity-at-work-in-fear-of-discrimination-heres-how-you-can-help-115523
In-text citation: (Boncori & O’Shea, 2019, para. 4)
Apolitical. (2019). Gender equality top 100: The most influential people in global policy 2019. https://apolitical.co/lists/gender-equality-100/
In-text citation: (Apolitical, 2019)
To cite the additional resources in this chapter:
Engels, F. & Marx, K. (2000). Manifesto of the communist party (S. Moore, Trans.). Marxist Internet Archive. https://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/1848/communist-manifesto/ (Originally published 1848)
In-text citation: (Engels & Marx, 1848/2000)
Marxism. (2018). In P. Lagasse, & Columbia University, The Columbia encyclopedia (8th ed.). Columbia University Press. http://lynn-lang.student.lynn.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/columency/marxism/0?institutionId=1065
In-text citation: ("Marxism," 2018)
New Economic Thinking. (2010, April 30). Branko Milanovic- Global income inquality [Video] YouTube. https://youtu.be/SMsirg7Z0bU
In-text citation: (New Economic Thinking, 2010)
To cite the introduction material
Regueiro, A. (2020). (In)justice & freedom. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. 25-29). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Regueiro, 2020, p. 26)
To cite the required readings from this chapter:
Robinson, M. (2012, August 5). Transcript of Mary Robinson’s Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture. Nelson Mandela Foundation. https://www.nelsonmandela.org/news/entry/transcript-of-mary-robinsons-nelson-mandela-annual-lecture
In-text citation: (Robinson, 2012)
SABC News (2012, August 5). The Tenth Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture 2012 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/qAOMozNZ4aY
In-text citation: (SABC News, 2012)
To cite the introductory material in this chapter:
Wright, M. (2020). (In)justice & power. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. 30-36). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Wright, 2020, p.30)
To cite the embedded materials in this chapter:
Zane, D. (2020, July 10). Nile Dam row: Egypt and Ethiopia generate heat but no power. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-53327668
In-text citation: (Zane, 2020)
To cite the required reading in this chapter:
Zurita, F. (Director). (1992). Rigoberta Menchú: Broken silence [Film]. Alba-Films.
In-text citation: (Zurita, 1992)
Menchú, R. (1999). Rigoberta Menchú Tum: Nobel lecture. The Nobel Prize. https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/peace/1992/tum/lecture/ (Original speech 1992)
In-text citation: (Menchú, 1992/1999)
Castanheira, G. (Director). (2012). Vandana Shiva: Thinking existenz [Video]. Popfilms. https://lynn-lang.student.lynn.edu/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=106133&xtid=55446
In-text citation: (Castanheira, 2012)
To cite the additional sources from this chapter:
Schroeder, M.J. (2016). Menchú Tum, Rigoberta. In M.E. Ackermann, M.J. Schroeder, J.J. Terry, J. L. Upshur, & M. F. Whitters (Eds), World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set. Fact on File. https://lynn-lang.student.lynn.edu:2147/content/entry/fofworld/menchu_tum_rigoberta/0
In-text citation: (Schroeder, 2016)
Uglow, J. (2005). Shiva, Vandana (1952-). In J. S. Uglow, F. Hinton, & M. Hendry (Eds.), The Palgrave MacMillan dictionary of women’s biography (4th ed.), MacMillan Publishers. https://lynn-lang.student.lynn.edu:2147/content/entry/macdwb/shiva_vandana/0
In-text citation: (Uglow, 2005)
To cite the introductory material in this chapter:
Klotz, K. (2020). Civic engagement & social impact. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. 38-43). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Klotz, 2020, p. 39)
To cite the required reading in this chapter:
Martin, W. (2016). The activist’s Tao Te Ching: Ancient advice for a modern revolution. New World Library.
In-text citation: (Martin, 2016)
Gandhi, M. (1965). Gandhi on non-violence: A selection from the writings of Mahatma Gandhi (T. Merton, ed.). New Direction Publishing.
In-text citation: (Gandhi, 1965, p. 23)
Gandhi, M. K. (1922). Freedom’s battle: Being a comprehensive collection of writings and speeches on the present situation (2nd ed.). Project Gutenberg. https://www.gutenberg.org/files/10366/10366-h/10366-h.htm
In-text citation: (Gandhi, 1922)
McQuade, J. (2016, November 9). The forgotten violence that helped India break free from colonial rule. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/the-forgotten-violence-that-helped-india-break-free-from-colonial-rule-57904
In-text citation: (McQuade, 2016)
Guevara, C. (2005). Guerilla warfare: A method. In D. Deutschmann (Ed.), The Che Reader. Ocean Press. https://www.marxists.org/archive/guevara/1963/09/guerrilla-warfare.htm (Originally written 1963)
In-text citation: (Guevara, 1963/2005)
PHINEO. (2017). Social impact navigator. http://www.social-impact-navigator.org/
In-text citation: (Phineo, 2017)
To cite the additional sources from this chapter:
Biswas, S. (2020, January 14). Why protesting Indians are chanting the Constitution. BBC. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-51088907
In-text citation: (Biswas, 2020, para. 4)
Al Jazeera English. (2017, August 27). Taking a stand by bending a knee: How Colin Kaepernick started a movement [Video]. Youtube. https://youtu.be/-V3OtQwLpdw
In-text citation: (Al Jazeera English, 2017)
Leonard, T. M. (2017). Guevara, Che. In T. M. Leonard (Ed.), Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present). Facts on File. https://lynn-lang.student.lynn.edu:2147/content/entry/fofmodern/guevara_che/0
In-text citation: (Leonard, 2017)
Engelbrecht, C., Cott, E., Al-Hlou, Y, & Prichard, A. (2018, December 9). Understanding the collection rage of France’s ‘Gilets Jaunes’ [Video]. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/video/world/europe/100000006250440/yellow-vest-protest-france-gilets-jaunes.html
In-text citation: (Engelbrecht et al., 2018)
NowThis World. (2019, January 13). Who are France's Yellow Vest protesters? (Les Gilets Jaunes)? [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/zn_GHA850eQ
In-text citation: (NowThis World, 2019)
To cite the introductory material in this chapter:
Varga, T., & Regueiro, A. (2020). Social impact applied. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. 44-53). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Varga & Regueiro, 2020, p. 45)
To cite the embedded material in this chapter:
The New York Times. (2018, December 10). France’s ‘yellow vests’ protests: Understanding the collective rage [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/KPYCzthXKV
In-text citation: (The New York Times, 2018)
Starbucks. (n.d.). Becoming resource positive [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/KPYCzthXKV
In-text citation: (Starbucks, n.d.)
Ben & Jerry’s. (n.d.). Issues we care about: We use our position to influence change. https://www.benjerry.com/values/issues-we-care-about
In-text citation: ((Ben & Jerry’s, n.d.)
Ben & Jerry’s. (2020). We must dismantle white supremacy: Silence is not an option. https://www.benjerry.com/about-us/media-center/dismantle-white-supremacy
In-text citation: (Ben & Jerry’s, 2020)
Fundación Mi Parque. (n.d.). Inicio. https://www.miparque.cl/es/inicio/
In-Text Citation: (Fundación Mi Parque, n.d.)
The Lord's Place. (n.d.). Breaking the cycle of homelessness. https://thelordsplace.org/
in-text Citation: (The Lord's Place, n.d.)
Fair Trade Campaigns. (n.d.). Lynn University. https://fairtradecampaigns.org/campaign/lynn-university/
In-Text Citation: (Fair Trade Campaigns, n.d.)
Lynn University. (n.d.). Social Impact Lab. https://www.lynn.edu/academics/individualized-learning/social-impact-lab
In-Text Citation: (Lynn University, n.d.)
The Ocean Cleanup. (n.d.).The Ocean Cleanup https://theoceancleanup.com/
In-Text Citation: (The Ocean Cleanup, n.d.)
To cite the required reading in this chapter:
Williams, J. (1998). Jody Williams: Nobel lecture. The Nobel Prize. https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/peace/1997/williams/lecture/ (Original lecture 1997)
In-text citation: (Williams, 1997/1998)
The Ocean Cleanup. (n.d.). Milestone 2013: How it all began. https://theoceancleanup.com/milestones/how-it-all-began/
In-text citation: (The Ocean Cleanup, n.d.)
Ritche, H., & Roser, M. (2018). Plastic pollution. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/plastic-pollution
In-text citation: (Ritchie & Roser, 2018)
The Ocean Cleanup. (2019). Boyan Slat unveils the Interceptor River Cleanup system: Changing rivers [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/KyZArQMFhQ4
In-text citation: (The Ocean Cleanup, 2019)
The Ocean Cleanup. (n.d.). Milestones: Scale-up in oceans. https://theoceancleanup.com/milestones/scale-up/
In-text citation: (The Ocean Cleanup, n.d.)
Thunberg, G. (2018, November). School strike for climate- Save the world by changing the rules: Greta Thunberg [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.ted.com/talks/greta_thunberg_school_strike_for_climate_save_the_world_by_changing_the_rules?
In-text citation: (Thunberg, 2018)
Ashoka. (n.d.). Find Ashoka fellows. https://www.ashoka.org/en-us/our-network/ashoka-fellows/search
In-text citation: (Ashoka, n.d.)
Muneeb, A. (2018, September 10). 5 ways to create social impact today. Medium. https://medium.com/swlh/5-ways-to-create-social-impact-today-b3a1c85238fc
In-text citation: (Muneeb, 2018, para. 2)
Forbes. (2018, June 25). The social impact revolution is here [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/WhVjcrRJpjo
In-text citation: (Forbes, 2018)
To cite the additional sources from this chapter:
Felder, D. G. (2020). Jody Williams (1950–). (2020). In The American Women's Almanac: 500 Years of Making History. Visible Ink Press. https://lynn-lang.student.lynn.edu:2147/content/entry/vipwomens/jody_williams_1950/0
In-text citation: (Felder, 2020)
International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons. (2014, December 7). Jody Williams on how the Mine Ban Treaty was achieved #goodbyenukes [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/R-A0TXE6A1E
In-text citation: (International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, 2014)
International Campaign to Ban Landmines. (2020). The problem. http://www.icbl.org/en-gb/problem.aspx
In-text citation: (International Campaign to Ban Landmines, 2020)
Ismay, J. & Gibbons-Neff, T. (2020, February 7). 160 nations ban these weapons. The U.S. now embraces them. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/02/07/us/trump-land-mines-cluster-munitions.html
In-text citation: (Ismay & Gibbons-Neff, 2020)
South China Morning Post. (2019, June 19). Cambodia’s hero rats hunt landmines and save thousands of lives [Video]. Youtube. https://youtu.be/HJX_hMtEh4g
In-text citation: (South China Morning Post, 2019)
Asmelash, L. (2019, September 29). Greta Thunberg isn’t alone. Meet some other young activists who are leading the environmentalist fight. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2019/09/28/world/youth-environment-activists-greta-thunberg-trnd/index.html
In-text citation: (Asmelash, 2019, para. 3)
WesHughes1234. (2010, February 11). 60 Minutes: The electric wasteland [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/cVORBbZBbOk
In-text citation: (WesHughes1234, 2019)
Varga, T., & Regueiro, A. (2020). Conclusion. In K. Klotz, A. Regueiro, T. Varga, & M. Wright (Eds.), Civic engagement & social justice (5th ed., pp. liv-lvii). Lynn University Digital Press.
In-text citation: (Varga & Regueiro, 2020, p. lv)
To cite the embedded material in this chapter:
McCombs School of Business. (n.d.). Veil of ignorance. Ethics Unwrapped. https://ethicsunwrapped.utexas.edu/glossary/veil-of-ignorance
In-text citation: (McCombs School of Business, n.d.)
African Union. (n.d.). About the African Union. https://au.int/en/overview
In-text citation: (African Union, n.d.)
