Lynn UniversityLynn Library
Skip to Main Content

Chicago Style (Author/Date)

Online Encyclopedia & Dictionary with Author

‎

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Entry Title." In Encyclopedia/Dictionary Title. Accessed DATE, DOI Number or URL or Name of Database. (Use only one)

Encyclopedia Examples:

Kulik, Rebecca M. "Sustainable Development." In Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Accessed January 29, 2024, https://www.britannica.com/topic/sustainable-development.

  • In-text paraphrase: (Kulik 2024).
  • In-text quote: (Kulik 2024, para. 3).

Masolo, Dismas. "African Sage Philosophy." In Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Stanford University, 1997-. Article published February 14, 2006; last modified February 22, 2016. https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/african-sage/

  • In-text paraphrase: (Masolo 2016).
  • In-text quote: (Masolo 2016, under "Conclusion").

Palmisano, Joseph M., ed. 2001. “Symbolic Interactionism.” In World of Sociology, 1st ed. Gale. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6MTY5MTM5MA==?aid=106133.

  • In-text paraphrase: (Palmisano 2001).
  • In-text quote: (Palmisano 2001, para. 3).

 

Dictionary Example:

Middleton, Richard. 2017. "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)." In Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/31351. 

  • In-text paraphrase: (Middleton 2004).
  • In-text quote: (Middleton 2004, under "From Child to Beatle").

 

Online Encyclopedia & Dictionary without Author

‎

Title of Reference Work in Title Case and Italics. Year. "Title of Entry." Accessed or modified date. DOI Number or URL or Name of Database. (Use only one)

Encyclopedia Examples:

Encyclopedia Britannica. 2023. "Rosetta Stone." Accessed January 31, 2024. https://www.britannica.com/topic/Rosetta-Stone.

  • In-text paraphrase: (Encyclopedia Britannica 2023).
  • In-text quote: (Encyclopedia Britannica 2023, para. 2).

Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America, 2nd ed. 2009. "First Amendment (U.S. Constitution)." Accessed January 31, 2024. Credo. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6MzA5NTE1Nw==?q=First+Amendment+OR+%28First+Amendment+to+the+United+States+Constitution%29&aid=106133 

  • In-text paraphrase: (Encyclopedia Religion and Law 2009).
  • In-text quote: (Encyclopedia Religion and Law 2009, para. 3).

Wikipedia. 2024. "Stevie Nicks." Last modified January 20, 2024, 18:01. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stevie_Nicks.

  • In-text paraphrase: (Wikipedia 2024).
  • In-text quote: (Wikipedia 2024, under "Discography").

 

Dictionary Example:

Merriam-Webster. 2024. "quotidian." Accessed January 31, 2024. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/quotidian.

  • In-text paraphrase: (Merriam-Webster 2024).
  • In-text quote: (Merriam-Webster 2024, definition 2b).