Finding Academic Sources about Religious and Philosophical Belief Systems:

1. Use the "Research FOR Expertise" Databases listed on the home page of this guide.
2. Use the Library Databases listed below.
3. Use the online encyclopedias of philosophy and additional resources listed below.

Note. Library sources have built-in, good-quality citation tools. For more details, see this guide to citing databases. Do not use free online citation makers; they do not do a good job!

Check out this guide to philosophy resources in Credo.

Author, A. A. (2020). Entry name in sentence case. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2023 ed.). Stanford University. URL

• Click "Author and Citation Info" to get the current edition date for the Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy

Author, A. A. (n.d.). Entry name in sentence case. In J. Fieser & B. Dowden (Eds.), Internet encyclopedia of philosophy. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL

• There are no publication dates for this encyclopedia, so use (n.d.) and a retrieval date

Author, A. A. (2019). Entry name in sentence case. In R. Waithe & M. E. Hagengruber (Eds.), Encyclopedia of concise concepts by women philosophers. URL

• click [DOI] link for the date
• click the [P] for the permanent link

Outline Instructions: "You must provide APA style in-text, parenthetical citations after every sentence that was influenced by an outside source."

Sample Outline Citation Example:

Body

I.  Legalizing sex work provides health benefits.

                A. Legalizing sex work provides health benefits to the community.

1. 1. When sex work is legalized, workers must submit to regular health screenings for STIs and other communicable diseases (Liberator, 2006). 
   2. "...It is speculated that sexual contact between prostitutes and married men is one of the leading causes of the spread of AIDS into the general population" (Chittom & Bourassa, 2016, para. 9).

References

Chittom, L., & Bourassa, C. (2016). Counterpoint: Prostitution should be legalized. Points of View: Prostitution, 3. http://lynn- lang.student.lynn.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=pwh&AN=28675306&site=pov-live

Liberator, M. (2006). Prostitution should be legalized. In L. Gerdes (Ed.), Opposing Viewpoints. Prostitution and Sex Trafficking. Greenhaven Press. (Reprinted from Legalized Prostitution: Regulating the Oldest Profession, Liberator, 2004) https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3010435224/OVIC?u=boca54337&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=a440e5e0 

Your assignment might direct you to include a "hook" for your introduction. A quotation is one option.

To look for quotations:

1. Search in the Lynn Library (both options have built-in citations!)
   • Online quotation dictionaries (Credo)
   • Quotation books (many are online books)
2. Search in these online sources 
   • wikiquote
   • Bartleby.com quotations

Note. Avoid using google for quotations. It can be easy to find a quote on the internet, but quotation websites, like BrainyQuotes, often get the words and author wrong, so you might be using incorrect information! They also do not tell you the source of the quotation so it is difficult or impossible to cite the quote.

Citing quotations:

• If you use a quote from one of the library sources, it has a built-in citation you can use.
• If you use a quote from wikiquote, look up the original source and cite it.
• If you use a quote from Bartleby.com, cite the book the quote is from.
• If you do use a quote from a quotation website, cite the website where you found it.

• Here are examples of religious belief systems: Christianity (or any Christian sub-group, such as Roman Catholic, Greek Orthodox, Mormonism, Armenian Church, Protestant Christian (Lutheranism, Methodist, Baptist, Nondenominational, etc.), Judaism (or sub-group, such as Orthodox, Reformed, etc.) Islam, Paganism, Wiccan, Satanism, American Indian Religion, Shamanism, Rastafarianism, etc.

• Here are examples of philosophical belief systems: Idealism, Realism, Impressionism, Absurdism, Humanism, Existentialism, Critical Philosophy, Utilitarianism, Pragmatism, Minimalism, Sex philosophy (Queer Theory, Feminism, Masculinity) Agnosticism, Post-modernism, Stoicism, Positivism, Philosophy of science, Deconstructionism, Stoicism, American Transcendentalism, Transhumanism, Hedonism, Virtue Ethics.

Note. These are merely examples, and the list is not meant to be exhaustive. You may select addition religious or philosophical beliefs systems that are not included above*