Your assignment might direct you to include a "hook" for your introduction. A quotation is one option.

To look for quotations:

1. Search in the Lynn Library (both options have built-in citations!)
   • Online quotation dictionaries (Credo)
   • Quotation books (many are online books)
2. Search in these online sources 
   • wikiquote
   • Bartleby.com quotations

Note. Avoid using google for quotations. It can be easy to find a quote on the internet, but quotation websites, like BrainyQuotes, often get the words and author wrong, so you might be using incorrect information! They also do not tell you the source of the quotation so it is difficult or impossible to cite the quote.

Citing quotations:

• If you use a quote from one of the library sources, it has a built-in citation you can use.
• If you use a quote from wikiquote, look up the original source and cite it.
• If you use a quote from Bartleby.com, cite the book the quote is from.
• If you do use a quote from a quotation website, cite the website where you found it.

Include in the paper for Dr. Jones:

• 1 quote from a scholarly journal article
• 1 quote from an international/national news article to support your claims and main ideas.

Tips for finding a scholarly journal article in the library:

• Learn about your topic from a Google search, your textbook, the three databases listed below, etc.
• Make a list of key terms you learned about your topic - keep in mind that scholarly sources might use different terminology than the terminology used in popular sources
• Use the main search box on the library home page to search using the key terms you listed
• Use library databases to search using the key terms you listed - see the databases listed on the home page of this guide

Tips for finding an international/national news article:

• Use a Google "site" search: 
  • in Google, type your search terms, then add this phrase -  site:nytimes.com - this will search for your topic in only the New York Times. 
  • Find the URL for another news source you trust and replace nytimes.com in the example above -- site:website name
  • Google for the name of international newspapers or try this list of international news sources from Britannica

Library databases and academic resources - Students will learn to identify appropriate and relevant academic sources using library databases.

Using the databases section of the Lynn University Library, complete the following steps:

1. Find a database that you think might be useful for the final essay (you don’t have to know your exact topic for this essay yet);
   • Library tips for #1:
   • On the databases page of the library, use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu to look for a subject that interests you
   • Consider using the "Research FOR Expertise" databases listed on the home page of this guide
2. Using the selected database, find a source relevant to a potential topic for the final essay (again, you don’t have to know your exact topic for this essay yet);
   • Library tips for #2:
   • Key to finding a source you can use is modifying your key terms; keep in mind that scholarly sources might use different terminology than popular sources or than our everyday language
   • The "Reseasrch FOR Expertise" databases listed on the home page of this guide and a basic Google search can help you identity the key words used for the topic that interests you
3. In 2-3 sentences, describe how the selected source might be relevant to the final paper;
4. Create a reference for the source using APA style.
   • Library tips for #4:
   • Create a full reference list citation (use a hanging indent)
   • Create 2 in-text citations: one for a quotation, one for a paraphrase
5. Submit the name of the database, the description of the source, and the reference as a single document or a single text entry submission.

Assignment: Find 2 academic course related to your topic from library databases

1. Use the "Research FOR Expertise" databases listed on the home page of this guide - keep in mind that scholarly sources might use different terminology than popular sources
2. Use the main search box on the library home page to search for your topic (use the topic names you found while searching in the "Research FOR Expertise" databases

This is the introductory writing course for all students. As such, the use of AI chatbots (such as chatgpt, Jasper, or Perplexity) are strictly prohibited in this course. Any attempt to use AI in your academic work including generating ideas, paraphrasing, or creating content will be considered a violation of Lynn University’s Academic Integrity policy and will be reported to the academic dean.