Stacy Alesi
Information Desk Librarian
stalesi@lynn.edu
561-237-7558
Before you can start work, you must complete your onboarding. You should receive an email from either your supervisor or Employee Services giving you access to Workday. Workday is the app you use to complete your onboarding, and it is also where you will clock in and out for your shifts. Once you have permission to access Workday, you can download the app to your phone and/or iPad if you want.
NOTE: You cannot Google "Workday" to get to the login page. Please bookmark this link: WORKDAY
https://wd5.myworkday.com/wday/authgwy/lynn/login.htmld?returnTo=%2flynn%2fd%2fhome.htmld
It is also available on myLynn: https://my.lynn.edu/ics
NOTE: Make sure you use the Workday option for "Lynn Student Account." Any previous links you saved will not offer you this option!
Onboarding for new student workers:
There is additional staff training you must complete. It may look similar to the student training you were given, but it is in addition to that.
Employee Services will send you the forms to fill out. Remember, you cannot start work until your onboarding is complete!
W-4 Form: Starting in 2020, all you have to do is provide your name, address, Social Security number and filing status, and sign and date the form. The IRS recommends using its online Tax Withholding Estimator to make sure the right amount is being withheld from your pay.
I-9 Form: Make sure you have the documents you need for the I-9 form. This is done in person at Employee Services in the Green Center. Acceptable I-9 Documents
Direct Deposit Form
All things pay related:
https://kb.lynn.edu/display/WDAYDOCS/Manage+Your+Pay+Options
'How to' guidance on -
Mandatory Compliance Courses: Safe Colleges Training
https://lynn-fl.safecolleges.com/
MUST USE PSW@LYNN.EDU address
If you have any questions along the way, please ask your co-workers, supervisor, or a librarian. We are here to help!
Academic Library: a library that is housed in a college or university. Jared Wellman is the library director here at Lynn.
Archives: the storage, management, and preservation of materials in digital form. The purpose of Lynn University Archives is to gather, preserve, and organize materials constituting the historical record of the university. It is the official depository for records that are of administrative value or historical significance. Lea Iadarola is our Archivist & Records Manager.
Audiovisuals: DVDs, CDs, and any recorded speech, music, or video.
Call Number: A combination of numbers and letters that is given to each item held in the library. The letters and numbers describe its subject matter and serve as its location on the shelf. We use the Library of Congress classification system, as do most academic libraries.
Charge: means the same thing as "check out".
Check-in: to return borrowed materials to the library.
Check out: to borrow an item from a library for a fixed period of time.
Circulating vs. Non-circulating: Materials that can be borrowed by library users and taken out of the library are circulating items. Library materials, such as reference books, that can be used by customers but not taken out of the library, are non-circulating items.
Circulation: the department in the library where you check out, return or renew items, ask about missing items, or inquire about fines. These activities all happen at the Information Desk and are usually handled by student workers.
Course Reserves: A selection of specific books, DVDs, or other material set aside by professors for use by students in particular classes. These items are kept behind the Information Desk and can be checked out.
Discharge: means the same thing as "Check-in"
Due Date: the date and time borrowed materials are due back to the library.
Fines: the amount of money that is owed by the borrower if materials are not returned on time. We generally only charge overdue fees on textbooks, and fines must be paid in the Financial Aid office. We cannot collect any fees or fines in the library.
Hold: A request for an item that is already checked out to someone else, or is on order for the library. Holds can generally be placed on any regularly circulating library materials in-person or online. An item cannot be renewed if there is a hold on it.
Holdings: the materials owned by the library
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): A service that allows patrons to borrow materials not owned by the Lynn Library from another library. Jared Wellman handles the ILLs at Lynn. ILLs cannot be renewed by library staff.
LibGuides: a guide is essentially a mini-website. We use guides for broad general topics like APA, or for student worker training. To make things easy, think of them as 'webpages.' We do.
Librarian: a professional trained in information science. At Lynn, all the librarians have a Master's degree in Library Science or Library & Information Science. Many of the librarians have a second Master's degree in another ar
ea as well.
Library Cat: Cats have been in libraries (and bookstores) since the Middle Ages. More recently, library cats have also been featured in film and literature. At Lynn, we have a few library cats who work remotely, including Loki & Cheeem!
Library of Congress (LC): the organizational system used at Lynn to keep the books in order. It is very specific; every item has a proper place on the shelf.
OPAC: acronym for Online Public Access Catalog, an electronic database that contains records of the materials held by the Library. Also called the online catalog.
Patron: Anyone who visits the library or uses the library services; also known as a library user or customer.
Record: the complete information for each item in our catalog, and in our patron database. The catalog includes things like the title, author, shelf location, etc. The patron database includes name, email, phone number, items checked out, any overdues, patron history, and more.
Renew: to extend the loan period for checked out library materials. Items can be renewed online, by phone, or in-person at the Information Desk.
Serials: publications such as magazines, journals, and newspapers, in print or digital. Also referred to as periodicals.
Shelf Reading: going through the stacks, item by item, to make sure they are in perfect order. This can be tedious work, so it is best to do a small section at a time. It is the only way to make sure the materials are available as needed.
Shelving: moving the books and DVDs that have been returned to their proper place in the library using the LC system.
SPIRAL: acronym for Scholarly Publications, Institutional Repository and Archives at Lynn. It's an online archive for collecting, preserving, and disseminating digital copies of the intellectual output of Lynn University. SPIRAL is used for collecting and posting faculty and staff publications and presentations, student theses, portfolios, and dissertations, as well as video or audio files, archival materials, photographs, yearbooks, student newspapers, and more.
Stacks: the areas of the library where materials are shelved; the books, DVDs, CDs, etc. At Lynn, the stacks are on the second floor and in the Music Library.
WorldCat: a catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative. It is available through WorldShare, and is the default search.
WorldShare (WMS): a cloud-based library services platform. This is the software that Lynn uses for all library functions including cataloging, checking in and out materials, etc.
CUSTOMER SERVICE
Those of us who work at the Information Desk are often the first point of contact in the Library for students, staff, faculty, and visitors. Our job at the Information Desk is to make a lasting and consistent good impression. Every patron deserves to receive prompt and focused service. Patrons can legitimately expect staff to be knowledgeable. Interactions with patrons should be characterized by courtesy and genuine efforts to meet the patron’s needs. Within the bounds of the Lynn Library guidelines, look for ways to say “yes” to patron requests.
ATTENDANCE AND PUNCTUALITY
Attendance and punctuality are required for employment at Lynn Library. If you are unable to work a scheduled shift, contact the Information Desk Librarian via text or email (561-334-9439 or at stalesi@lynn.edu) prior to your shift. You are responsible for finding another student worker to cover your shift, which can be done via the student chat group or through Teams. You are expected to work your assigned schedule. Two unexcused absences in an academic year can result in dismissal. Consistent tardiness can also result in dismissal.
WORK SCHEDULE
The Information Desk Librarian will establish a work schedule with you. It is your responsibility to honor your work schedule. Your work and work habits represent the Library. It is important that you are courteous, alert, and helpful at all times. Please be mindful that questions outside the area of your assignment should be referred to librarians and library staff.
NAME TAGS
Name tags are provided for all student workers. You are expected to wear your nametag at all times while you are working. Name tags show library patrons that you are an individual responsible for providing service in the library.
CELL PHONES
Cell phones must be set to vibrate while working in the library. Although Library policy states that all cell phone conversations should be conducted quietly so as not to disturb others, while you are working, you should not be talking on your cell phone and should step away to take a call. If your call lasts longer than 5 minutes you will be expected to log out or use your break time for the call.
FOOD AND DRINK
Food is allowed in the Library. However, you should not eat at the desk during your shift. Exceptions may be made if you are working between classes and will not have another chance to eat; please check with your supervisor. You may have a beverage in a closed container, but if possible, you should eat while on break.
BREAKS
When you work a block of four or more hours, you are entitled to a paid 15-minute break to be scheduled by your supervisor. You do not need to clock in and out for the 15-minute break.
If you are working 6-8 hours, you need to clock out for at least a 30-minute meal break; for those working 8+ hours in a day, you need to clock out for a full hour meal break. As a student employee on duty, you may use the Staff Room for your break.
LYNN UNIVERSITY’S STUDENT WORKER EMPLOYMENT LIMIT
Student employees will be scheduled according to their work study awards and the needs of the library. Students may work a maximum of 20 hours per week while classes are in session. Lynn University generally prohibits students from working more than 20 hours per week. It is the student’s responsibility to make certain not to exceed the 20 hour maximum per week on campus in any combination of scholarship, institutional, or work study jobs.
COMMUNICATION
Student employees are given access to Microsoft Teams with their work email. Work schedules are on Teams, and your supervisor will communicate via Teams chat and email. This could include changes in policy, tips for improving workflow, changes in schedules or library hours, etc.
If there is an issue with your work schedule, like your family showed up unexpectedly or there is a class assignment that is taking priority over work, there is a student chat available to offer your shift to someone else. If you need to change your schedule after it is posted, it is your responsibility to find another student worker to cover your shift. Please use Teams to make arrangements to change your schedule.
Please make sure your notifications are active for Teams so you will be notified when there is a new schedule and any communications. Student workers are also expected to check their Lynn email regularly (daily at minimum) for any email from their supervisor.
Call your supervisor immediately if you are sick or have some other emergency. You must notify your supervisor before the start of your shift. Failure to call more than twice can lead to dismissal.
Talk to your supervisor right away if you need to change, increase, or decrease your work hours.
Give your supervisor at least one week advance notice if you plan to take time off.
Ask your supervisor whether you can schedule make-up hours if you miss work time for a legitimate reason. Make-up hours cannot always be scheduled.
Give your supervisor two weeks notice if you intend to resign.
Payroll stubs can be accessed online through Workday.
Alternatively, unofficial paystubs are available on the Employee page of myLynn. Please note – you must login to access this information.
W2s also will be available by the end of January on Workday.
Should you have any further questions, please direct them to your supervisor or to Lynn’s Employee Services.
A student will be dismissed immediately for any of the following reasons:
Falsifying time records
Insubordination
Poor work performance
Excessive absenteeism/lateness
Failure to work schedule
Maintaining a safe work environment requires the continuous cooperation of all employees. Employees are expected to obey safety rules and to exercise caution in all your work activities. It is important to see every library visitor, so make sure you look up from your work whenever someone enters the library. Although there are security cameras in the library, we must remain vigilant and situationally aware. Please report any unsafe conditions to your supervisor and library staff.
The University employs a fully certified 24-hour Campus Safety department. Immediately report any suspicious person or activity by calling Campus Safety at +1 561-237-7226.
In the event of emergency, there is a panic button located beneath the Information Desk.
Here are emergency contact numbers for employees:
911 - Medical or Fire Emergency
Ext 7226 - Campus Safety
Ext 7915 - Employee Services
Ext 7124 - Health Center
If employees must work late hours, they may contact Campus Safety for escort to their cars, or for any other assistance or security problems. If there is an emergency after hours, employees on campus should call Campus Safety at extension 7226 for security assistance.
Even if classes are cancelled due to severe weather, the Lynn Library will still be open for business unless it is announced that Lynn University is closing completely. You should therefore call the Hurricane hotline, 561-237-7000, or check Lynn’s homepage for updates. If Lynn has not closed completely, you should report to work or contact your supervisor for guidance or to discuss travel difficulties. We cannot pay you for any hours not worked, regardless of cause.
In the event of a hurricane, tornado, or emergency, Lynn uses an automated alert system to send detailed voice, e-mail and text messages to students, faculty, and staff and their emergency contacts. Use the myLynn portal to keep your contact information updated at all times.
In addition to the campus alert system, live and recorded information is available 24 hours a day by calling the main Lynn University telephone number, +1 561-237-7000.
During normal business hours (Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.) parents can call this number and ask for Residence Life to get updated information.
After normal business hours, 561-237-7000 will have a pre-recorded message. If the university loses local phone service due to a major storm, an emergency backup system allows the 561-237-7000 phone number to be answered out of state and continue to have updated pre-recorded messages.
To learn more about the services the library offers and find answers to all sorts of questions, check out the Library FAQs:
Learning the Ropes provides basic information about how to be successful in the workplace, with tips on fitting into the job, employee rights, and problem-resolving skills.
In Take this job and thrive : 60 ways to make life more rewarding in today's new workplace, One of the nation's leading syndicated career and workplace writers shares her advice on key workplace issues such as: career planning, personal improvement, work environment, work problems, and communication. Filled with informative and entertaining stories of real-life job triumphs and catastrophes, this book provides sound advice on how to deal with everything
10 things employers want you to learn in college includes essential skills students need to survive and succeed in today’s job market, based on extensive interviews with employers, recruiters, etc.
Communication Skills focuses on the importance of solid speaking, writing, listening, and conversational skills for thriving in the workplace. The book also covers additional communication skills that are useful in specific situations, such as techniques for conducting structured and productive meetings.
https://lynn.on.worldcat.org/search?databaseList=283&queryString=se:Career%20skills%20library%20
