Skip to main content

Lynn University Archives

Access Policy

Records transferred to Archives become the administrative responsibility of University Archives, and unless otherwise stipulated by agreement, such records shall reside permanently in the Archives.

Many University records housed in the Archives are subject to unrestricted public access. The University records to which access is restricted may be examined by staff from the department of origin of those records upon the request of the administrator of that department and in agreement with the University Archivist and General Counsel.

Examples of restricted access records include, but are not limited to:

  • Records of a sitting administration
  • Restricted by Deed of Gift
  • Files containing personal or confidential information or legal documents*

To help guarantee the preservation, integrity, and security of records that have been turned over to the Archives, access to records housed in the Archives shall be on-premises and by appointment only. The collection is non-circulating and items may not be removed from the Archives. The Archivist may agree to photocopy or scan records if the condition and integrity of the original records will not be in any way damaged or otherwise altered during the process of placing them on scanners or photocopiers.

Use Policy

Many records and materials housed in the Archives are unique and irreplaceable and therefore require great care while being handled. The following are rules of use for the Archives:

  • The Archivist reserves the right to ask researchers to fill out an application or provide an identification card prior to using the Archives.
  • No food, drink, or chewing gum is permitted.
  • Only pencils are permitted. No pens or markers.
  • When viewing photographs, documents or books, only one folder or box is permitted to be used at a time.
  • Do not bend, crease or damage Archival content.
  • Keep materials in the original order.
  • Clean hands are required for handling books and documents. Gloves (provided by Archives staff) must be worn when handling photographs.

* RESTRICTED

Personal Information
  • Social Security and credit card numbers
  • Health Information: covered by HIPAA law (of living persons)
  • Donor information
  • Work applications and CVs/ resumes (of living persons)
  • Addresses (of living persons)
  • Student Information protected by FERPA
Confidential Information
  • Documents marked “Confidential” or “Restricted”
  • Closed or Internal minutes
  • Salaries which could be considered current Legal Information
Legal documents
  • Correspondence on legal cases
  • Criminal records